#365DaysOfWriting – Day 110

Anger Management

Kung Fu Panda
2 min readAug 26, 2016

There are days when you want to just turn into the Incredible Hulk and tear up everything around you. Today’s one of those days for me.

If you were to see me now though, you wouldn’t think I was angry.

I have this habit of hiding my anger. And I do it well – you’ll probably see me smiling and nodding to everything, but internally I’m tearing everything apart. It’s because I fear the consequences of my anger. I once lost my temper as a child in school, and the eventual outcome wasn’t too pleasant. I will not go into details for the sake of my own sanity – it’s not something I’m proud of even today. But from then on I vowed never to lose my temper.

I’ve probably gone from one extreme to the other.

But I always believe it is better to err on the side of caution. Once you’ve lost your temper, there’s no going back. Holding it back a little lets you weigh options and see perspectives. Though in some cases, you might argue, it’s useless. I agree, not everyone deserves to have their perspective seen. Some people are just douchebags and must be treated with the contempt they deserve.

Even for the douchebags I say: show them kindness. Be the better person.

I know. Your blood boils even at the sight of them. But why get blood pressure over a nobody you won’t probably even bump into after quitting your current job? There are also nice ways of putting your point firmly across. You can be as stern as you want even when you do that. I’ve made it through life fine with this wait-and-watch tactic. Maybe that’s just my modus operandi. Maybe it works differently for everyone.

That’s my strategy for anger management. Calmness and patience. What’s yours?

--

--

Kung Fu Panda

Writer. Can consume abnormally large quantities of food. An 18-year-old trapped in an ageing body. AKA Dragon Warrior. In quest of achieving inner peace.