#365DaysOfWriting – Day 193

The Importance of Being Hundreds

Kung Fu Panda
2 min readNov 17, 2016

Or double hundreds, in the case of Virat Kohli, Indian cricket’s Wild(e) boy. (Get it? Hope you did.)

Matlab kuch bhi joke marega? MC BC *%^#+&@

He’s on the cusp of an interesting record.

If (oh God I hope I don’t jinx him) he reaches a double century against England tomorrow, it will be his 3rd double century in this year (no mean feat) and it will be his 3rd consecutive double century in 3 series.

The second stat is what interests me – 3 consecutive test series, 3 double centuries. How many have done it before him, if any?

If I were to hazard a guess, I’d probably go for Sir Don or Sangakkara in his prime, or Rahul Dravid during the 2003–2004 season.

Let’s take a look at the stats, shall we?

A cursory look at the stats reveals that Sir Don scored double centuries in almost every series for fun (he’s scored 3 in one series alone), so no point of including him in this list (for fairness to the mortal players).

Mate, that’s my sledgehammer… oops, sorry, BAT. Heh.

Ah! As I suspected, even Dravid has achieved the feat during that famous purple patch of 2003–2004. New Zealand, then Australia and finally Pakistan.

I was The Wall when Trump wasn’t even an idea.

And…. HAT-TRICK. Even Sangakkara has done it! Against Pakistan, Zimbabwe and South Africa! Can you believe it…?

You know what? I’m great with tosses too! I swear!

So boom! If Kohli does it tomorrow, he won’t be the first to do it, but he’ll join a pantheon of greats. And for an angry young man who couldn’t buy a run if he wanted to on his test series debut, that’s quite an achievement.

Go get that 200, Virat!

PS: I haven’t finely combed any of the stats, so some of my data might be wrong. Either way, this will be a magnificent achievement, if and when he gets there.

--

--

Kung Fu Panda

Writer. Can consume abnormally large quantities of food. An 18-year-old trapped in an ageing body. AKA Dragon Warrior. In quest of achieving inner peace.