#365DaysOfWriting – Day Eighty-Seven

If I were an Aussie cricketer, it would be a terribly unlucky day for me, mate!

Kung Fu Panda
1 min readAug 3, 2016

Only because 87 is 13 short of a hundred.

However, this superstition was born out of a misconception. 10-year-old Keith Miller – who later on became a legendary Australian all-rounder – was following a Sheffield Shield match involving Don Bradman. Bradman was batting serenely until his dismissal on – you guessed it – 87. Miller was devastated and started searching for similar scores in cricket books. Later, it was found that Bradman was out for 89, not 87. But the legend had stuck. You can read Cricket Australia’s entire story about it here.

Talking about bad luck – I got a second bad driver in 2 days, this time from Ola.

I’m too exhausted to write the whole story, but I’ll say this – he lied to me and was irritating. His driving was at least okay.

And I was hoping India would’ve wrapped up the test match by now.

Bad luck to me again! West Indies have finally found a spine – and are trailing by just 58 runs. Blackwood was again a star, with 63 (54), but Dowrich and Chase are batting with a lot of determination and have stitched a 100-run partnership together. This will be a true test of Kohli’s captaincy.

Enough bad luck for today I suppose. I’ll go sleep now. If you like what I’ve written, tap the little green heart at the bottom!

--

--

Kung Fu Panda

Writer. Can consume abnormally large quantities of food. An 18-year-old trapped in an ageing body. AKA Dragon Warrior. In quest of achieving inner peace.