#365DaysOfWriting – Day Eighty-Six

I was saddled with an Uber driver who didn’t know basic directions.

Kung Fu Panda
1 min readAug 2, 2016

I shouldn’t be complaining – I don’t drive and my road sense is pathetic.

But don’t you think if you’re an Uber DRIVER in Mumbai, you’d know your way around Mumbai at least? Surprisingly he had a 4.6-star rating, which made me wonder if I was being too harsh on him.

Then came the ultimate deal breaker.

He took a call while he was driving. That is one of my pet peeves. YOU’RE NOT ALLOWED TO TALK ON THE PHONE WHILE DRIVING. Sorry for the all-caps action, but I hate it when drivers do that.

This is sad, because just a couple of weeks back, I had a great experience with Uber.

This driver didn’t JUST know the way – he took me cleverly through a traffic-ridden area and ensured I reached my destination 15 minutes before the expected time – all without breaking any traffic rules! I gave him a 5-star rating and even took the trouble of filling out a form that would give him extra credit.

This makes me wonder – how does Uber select its drivers? On that note, I bid you good night. If you like what you read, tap the little green heart at the bottom!

--

--

Kung Fu Panda

Writer. Can consume abnormally large quantities of food. An 18-year-old trapped in an ageing body. AKA Dragon Warrior. In quest of achieving inner peace.