#365DaysOfWriting – Day Fifty-One

Comfort food. Glorious comfort food.

Kung Fu Panda
2 min readJun 28, 2016

51 days into my writing project and I’ve realised that I haven’t written at all about something that’s close to my heart (literally and figuratively) – FOOD!

If you’re looking for a long post, almost in the style of MasterChef, look away. This is just a starter – a little ‘entrée’ if you will, about my favourite comfort foods.

  1. Butter Chicken and Butter Naan – Works best during winters. Nice, long, soft naans with butter and a sweet buttery chicken. You don’t even need dessert afterwards.
  2. Plain rice, dal with desi ghee-fried onion tadka and a piece of fish fry – The one that’s best made at home, on a lazy Sunday, by your grandmother. Oh boy, mine knows cooking, and HOW. If she wasn’t so old, she’d be participating in MasterChef.
  3. Chicken Hakka Noodles with tomato ketchup on the side – My Chinese staple. Ask any of my friends and they’ll tell you, at a Chinese restaurant/buffet I always go for the noodles first. Then comes the hard part of explaining why I like tomato ketchup as an accompaniment…
  4. Cheesecake and mascarpone cream from Pizza Express – Notice how I’m so specific with this one? That’s because I’m not even a cheesecake fan! But Pizza Express has made me a believer. I still can’t eat cheesecake from anywhere else.
  5. Creamy mashed potatoes/thick cut French fries – As Sanika Tillway would tell you, no food list of mine is complete without the mention of potato (no wonder I’m shaped like one myself). I don’t like the assembly line French fries from McD for instance, but give me a fat, thick cut piece of fried potato goodness (you can get it at Doolally) and I’m set. Mashed potatoes too, mmmm – but it depends on the consistency of the mash. I hate finding potato lumps in them…

That’s it for today then. What are your favourite comfort foods? Exchange notes with me! And if you like what you read, tap the little green heart at the bottom!

--

--

Kung Fu Panda

Writer. Can consume abnormally large quantities of food. An 18-year-old trapped in an ageing body. AKA Dragon Warrior. In quest of achieving inner peace.