#365DaysOfWriting – Day Fifty-Six

Reminiscing…

Kung Fu Panda
1 min readJul 3, 2016

As I walked along a wet road, I saw my face in a puddle.

It reminded me of my childhood, my little paper boat. And its paddle.

Then I looked up at the rain, and it struck me.

The raindrops, that is. And the school days, when I waded through rain water, up to my knees.

“Those were the good days.” I said to myself.

Indeed, when I would steal chocolate cookies from the top shelf.

Play times involved the outdoors, it gave me a real rush.

Unlike the mundane task of sending a request for Candy Crush.

I get into an AC cab, on my way to work.

I miss the school bus, with all its bumps and jerks.

Friends chat away on messenger or WhatsApp.

They no longer yell your name out loud, or give your window a tap.

The joy of discovery was far greater in a library, in a World Book Encyclopaedia.

Nowadays, there’s Google and Wikipedia.

Don’t get me wrong, I’m not complaining.

I enjoy the benefits of technology. I’m just… reminiscing.

Did you like my little poem? Tap the little green heart at the bottom!

--

--

Kung Fu Panda

Writer. Can consume abnormally large quantities of food. An 18-year-old trapped in an ageing body. AKA Dragon Warrior. In quest of achieving inner peace.