#365DaysOfWriting – Day Forty

Goddamnit, it’s been 40 days of writing!

Kung Fu Panda
2 min readJun 17, 2016

40 days. That’s the longest writing streak I’ve ever had. Which doesn’t speak much of me because I’m a writer (a copywriter sure, but a writer nevertheless).

I’m actually kicked about the next big milestone now – the big half-century. But as is the secret with achieving big milestones, I’m going to take it one day at a time. You see, I’m going to be equalling the writing equivalent of Sir Gary Sobers’ erstwhile world record score (Cricket nuts will know what I’m talking about). So right now, I need to raise my pen (or keyboard, in this case) for the first big milestone in 10 days.

Why do I use cricketing analogies for most of my jokes, you ask? (yes I think they’re damn good jokes) Quite obviously it’s because of my affinity towards the game itself. Only with the consuming part of it though. I have played cricket and the results aren’t really flattering.

Except for the time I made 74 in a game and rescued my team from 55/6. No this isn’t an exaggeration. I also took a 4-wicket haul in the same game. But never before or after did I cross 10 with the bat, or take more than 3 wickets with the ball. I was like a poor man’s Shahid Afridi – much better with ball than bat, but never a master of either. That didn’t come out right, did it?

Anyway, I think I’ve rambled enough for today. There’s a Spain v Turkey match happening in 10 minutes, and I need to sleep. What do I choose? Ah decisions, decisions…

If you liked this little ramble of mine, tap the little green heart at the bottom.

PS: All cricket statistics furnished here are true and have not been fabricated in any way to the best of my knowledge.

--

--

Kung Fu Panda

Writer. Can consume abnormally large quantities of food. An 18-year-old trapped in an ageing body. AKA Dragon Warrior. In quest of achieving inner peace.