#365DaysOfWriting – Day Forty-One

My first fully working Saturday in a long, long time.

Kung Fu Panda
2 min readJun 18, 2016

I’d almost forgotten what that feels like. For a person who’s used to a 5-day working week, this was a surprise. Fortunately though, given the team that I work with, it was worth it. And it was the usual last-minute client shenanigans that led to this.

A working Saturday can be a sobering experience.

I believe that it makes you less complacent and puts you on the job right from the word go. Since it’s also more peaceful, you tend to get more work done (this is entirely my opinion though). You also tend to concentrate a little bit more so as to salvage the Sunday that comes after.

If the effort bears fruit, then it’s worth it.

I’m pretty sure I wouldn’t mind today if what we worked on eventually turns out to be successful. Neither will anyone else. So fingers crossed.

Once in a while is all right, but it should never become a norm.

I’m a firm believer in the 5-day working week, with a 2-day weekend. Those two days recharge your batteries just about enough to help you tackle the 5-day week ahead. If one of those days are taken away, well… we humans are good at adjusting, aren’t we?

So yeah. That’s my little rant on a Saturday… nay Sunday morning. I’m watching an interesting Euro game between Portugal and Austria that’s still 0–0. Hopefully they’ll score one before I sleep.

If you like what you read, please tap the little green heart at the bottom. Yes, I’m making you work on a Saturday too!

--

--

Kung Fu Panda

Writer. Can consume abnormally large quantities of food. An 18-year-old trapped in an ageing body. AKA Dragon Warrior. In quest of achieving inner peace.