#365DaysOfWriting – Day Seventy-Eight

“Carrom rambaanu. Juice piwanu. Majja ni life.”

Kung Fu Panda
Applaudience
1 min readJul 25, 2016

--

So I was watching Munnabhai MBBS yesterday after a very long time. It just struck me that of all Rajkumar Hirani films, I’ve watched this one the most.

In hindsight, while I have enjoyed Lage Raho Munnabhai and 3 Idiots (PK not so much), Munnabhai MBBS is, as a friend told me, the least preachy of his work. It just felt natural and more relatable.

Every other film tried to sell an idea.

Lage Raho had ‘Gandhigiri’. 3 Idiots had ‘AAL IZZ WELL’. PK had ‘wrong number’. Munnabhai MBBS was simply the story of a भाई (bhai) with a heart of gold. The ‘bhaigiri’ was innate and subtle. And the humour was so well written.

The dialogue I quoted at the beginning comes from a very emotional part of the film.

An old Parsi grandfather who’d given up hope on life is brought back to life with a simple game of carrom. Out of context this sounds utterly unbelievable, I know, but you have to see the film to believe it. I always shed happy tears at this scene, even today. This is my favourite scene of any Hirani film. That was the true power of Munnabhai MBBS back then – it wasn’t selling anything, just telling a great story.

Which Rajkumar Hirani film is your favourite? Write to me and let me know! If you agree with my choice and like what I’ve written, tap the little green heart at the bottom.

--

--

Kung Fu Panda
Applaudience

Writer. Can consume abnormally large quantities of food. An 18-year-old trapped in an ageing body. AKA Dragon Warrior. In quest of achieving inner peace.