#365DaysOfWriting – Day Seventy-Five

Kohli just scored his first double-hundred.

Kung Fu Panda
2 min readJul 22, 2016

After a pretty awesome birthday yesterday (thank you Sanika), I get the perfect birthday gift in Kohli’s 200. He’s not finished yet. And hopefully by the time I finish this post, he’ll be still batting.

Update: just as I say that, he drags on for a round 200 (283). Double drat!

Second update: Ashwin scores his 3rd Test 100 against the West Indies.

Yeah I haven’t written this post all at once – I’ve been at work till now.

But coming back to the cricket – this is a great start by India in the test series. It also helps immensely that they won the toss and batted on a slow, dry pitch. But 500+ in the first innings of a series sets the tone. And the charge was led by Captain Fantastic, Kohli. Ashwin provided able support, but the initial impetus came from the captain.

Third update: Now I’ve reached home, and Ashwin’s out too, for a well made 113 (253).

Amit Mishra’s on 42 and Shami just hit a 6. Things could be fun from here on. But I have a question – why isn’t Kohli declaring? With 547 on the board, you’d think India is safe. I think he wants the Windies openers to bat out only about 10 overs – those last awkward overs before stumps.

Fourth update: Oh wait, Kohli’s just signalled to the batsmen that they have 2 more overs to bat – that means 2 overs for Mishra to reach a 50.

I’m getting back to the game – too much fun on Day Seventy-Five! If you like what you read, tap the little green heart at the bottom!

--

--

Kung Fu Panda

Writer. Can consume abnormally large quantities of food. An 18-year-old trapped in an ageing body. AKA Dragon Warrior. In quest of achieving inner peace.