#365DaysOfWriting – Day Sixty-Nine

Don’t snigger. It’s not the 69 you’re looking for.

Kung Fu Panda
2 min readJul 16, 2016

No matter how old we get, there’s always a little snigger, shake of the head or a bitten tongue at the mention of an innuendo or a double entendre.

One of the earliest ones I heard was a Maharashtrian one, by comedian Dada Kondke – अँधेरी रात में दिया तेरे हाथ में। (Andheri raat mein diya tere haath mein).

Translating it into English just takes all the fizz out of it – roughly it translates to ‘in the dark night, I gave something in your hand’. See, it doesn’t work in English right? But it’s one of the early ones I’ve heard.

Our childhood has suffered a major ‘blow’ thanks to these entendres.

Sigh. You smiled at ‘blow’ didn’t you? Just think back to when you were in school – words like blow, cock and pussy had such innocent meanings. They were just poor animals. A piece of meat gave you protein, not a hard on. Even HARD just meant that something was difficult, or a material was solid, firm and rigid (I see wry smiles even as I type out the synonyms).

Not all PJs are of the ‘innuendo’ variety though.

You do have your vanilla PJs, ones that usually elicit a different ‘eye-rolling’ response. Sanika Tillway will know what I’m talking about.

An example of this type is the harmless pun. I’ve almost made a career out of punning, so much so that my comic book group has bestowed the title of PUNisher upon me (get it, get it). It fits too, some people say – my puns kill people’s brain cells with as much violence as Frank Castle inflicts on a drug lord. One of my favourite ones in this regard is from a game I played many years ago – the 2001 Activision Spider-Man game. In that, when Spidey and Venom team up to do a bit of computer database hunting, Venom asks Spidey if they’re going to ‘surf the web’. Play the game if you haven’t (if you can). It’s bloody brilliant.

How do jokes spruce up your life? What are the best PJs you’ve heard? Write in to me! And if this post made you laugh heartily, tap on the little green heart at the bottom.

--

--

Kung Fu Panda

Writer. Can consume abnormally large quantities of food. An 18-year-old trapped in an ageing body. AKA Dragon Warrior. In quest of achieving inner peace.