#365DaysOfWriting – Day Sixty-Seven

KABALI DA

Kung Fu Panda
2 min readJul 14, 2016

I thought Rajnikanth lost a bit of his mojo after Enthiran (Robot).

Kochadaiiyaan (The King), didn’t hold my fancy much. Even with its CGI gimmicks.

There was also the whole hospitalisation fiasco that took place immediately after Enthiran. I thought that this was the end, that Thalaivar would finally retire.

But this is Rajinikanth we’re talking about. And we said the same things after Baba failed in 2002.

Take a look at this poster.

KABALI DA

The swagger is back.

The pose is back.

The poise is back.

Rajinikanth is back, ladies and gentlemen.

There are three guns pointed at him. And he’s sitting there as if he knows they have blanks in them. There’s a dialogue in the Neruppu Da (I am fire) song that’s caught my fancy. What’s a Rajini movie without a whistle-inducing dialogue or two? Here goes:

Na vandhuttenu sollu, thirumbi vanduttennu, 25 varshattuku munnala epidi ponaro kabali apidiye thirumbi vanduttannu sollu… kabali da…

Translation (roughly): Tell them I have come, that I have come back… Kabali is back the same way he went away 25 years ago, tell them I am back! I am KABALI DA!

I believe you Thalaivar. We believe you.

I’m looking forward to this movie. Are you? Let me know! Until then, keep yourself entertained with the Neruppu Da song on loop. And if you like what I write, tap the little green heart at the bottom to show your support.

--

--

Kung Fu Panda

Writer. Can consume abnormally large quantities of food. An 18-year-old trapped in an ageing body. AKA Dragon Warrior. In quest of achieving inner peace.