#365DaysOfWriting – Day Sixty-Three

Another double event.

Kung Fu Panda
2 min readJul 10, 2016

13 days back, on Day Fifty, there was a 50/50 double event – Panchamda’s birthday and Messi’s retirement. I’m happy to report that this double event is 100% happy.

Event No. 1: The Entertainment Store opens in Mumbai

For years I’ve been jealous of people living in Bengaluru. It’s not the weather, as much as the presence of The Entertainment Store. A haven for collectors. The promised land. And it’s finally here in Mumbai! It’s within the Title Waves bookstore (a fantastic bookstore – they have a great collection). Not as big as the Bengaluru store obviously, but a good start for Mumbai collectors. I know I’m going to visit Bandra more often. I can see Sanika Tillway sniggering as she reads this. ;)

That’s me at The Entertainment Store. PC: Sanika Tillway

Event No. 2: France v Portugal

At the beginning of Euro 2016, if you would’ve told me that these two teams would reach the final, I would’ve laughed in your face. France aren’t anywhere near what they were in the early 2000s, and Portugal have been a spent force (with one truly world-class player) since 2006. France though, have been the far better team in the tournament. Portugal have stumbled all the way into the final – their first truly efficient performance came in the semi-final against Wales. I made an observation in an earlier post about this reminding me of the 1992 Cricket World Cup. France are like the efficient English team (NOT the football team, the cricket team) – poised to win the cup. Portugal on the other hand are like ‘cornered tigers’ – they scraped through the group stages by the skin of their teeth, and their talisman has taken them to the final. And just like 1992, I have a feeling that the team that’s struggled might just have the edge. Anyway, may the best team win!

I must return to the final. It promises to be an exciting game. If you like what I’ve written, tap the little green heart at the bottom!

--

--

Kung Fu Panda

Writer. Can consume abnormally large quantities of food. An 18-year-old trapped in an ageing body. AKA Dragon Warrior. In quest of achieving inner peace.