#365DaysOfWriting – Day Thirty-One

Working on a pitch in advertising can be exhilarating and exhausting.

Kung Fu Panda
2 min readJun 8, 2016

On the day I successfully complete a month of writing daily, I had to do a lot of other writing – copywriting to be precise.

Yes, I’m a copywriter in a digital marketing agency. And today, I was working on a pitch.

At all the agencies I’ve worked in, there’s always been a feverish buzz when a pitch presentation approaches its deadline.

It all begins, though, with a brief.

What they say: “Oh guys, I’ve got this exciting new brief from a prestigious client to pitch for their account!”

What they mean: “Here come two weeks of exhilaration, followed by anxiety and last-minute heartaches.”

Yes, quite literally. Eventually though, when everything comes together, you sit back and wonder, “did we really pull that off?” There is a sense of pride at looking at good work you’ve done.

It should end with getting the business… sadly, that doesn’t happen every time.

But I suppose that’s the thrill of the business – not every batsman that scores a 100 guarantees a win for his team, right?

Some of the best creative thinking comes through in a pitch – naturally, you’d think, as the brief is more or less open (compared to when you actually have the client on board). Just sometimes though, I’ve seen clients making the mistake of giving a restricted brief, because ‘my brand can only do so-and-so’ or ‘low budget’. If you’re really looking at creative thinking strength, your brief should be as liberating as possible. This is just my opinion though…

Any advertising stalwarts out there? I’d love to know what you think of pitches and the process. And if you like what you read, do tap the little green heart at the bottom!

--

--

Kung Fu Panda

Writer. Can consume abnormally large quantities of food. An 18-year-old trapped in an ageing body. AKA Dragon Warrior. In quest of achieving inner peace.