#365DaysOfWriting – Day Twenty-Three

Yesterday was a ‘rest day’ for me.

Kung Fu Panda
Applaudience
2 min readJun 1, 2016

--

Believe it or not, I learnt of this concept of rest days from test match cricket. Hard to believe I know, but once upon a time, 5-day tests had an extra (or two) rest day(s). As per stats guru Mohandas Menon, they began phasing out rest days only as recently as 1996. (Source)

The chain of 22 consecutive days of writing is finally broken. But it doesn’t perturb me, as long as I can keep the writing habit going. But why did it happen on the 23rd day?

Have you seen the Jim Carrey movie, The Number 23?

Jim Carrey plays Walter Sparrow, an animal control officer married to Agatha. On his birthday, Agatha gives him a book called ‘The Number 23', written by a Topsy Kretts. Soon, Walter begins noticing that his life revolves around the number 23 – this is also known as the 23 Enigma.

Now, while Jim Carrey was nominated for a Golden Raspberry award for the worst actor for this film, I personally feel that it’s one of Carrey’s most intense, raw performances. The 23 Enigma may sound silly, but Joel Schumacher manages to weave a compelling tale around it (I’ve still not forgiven him for Batman and Robin though). It’s a movie I would recommend, at least for a one-time watch.

And guess what? I started writing this post at exactly 9:23 AM. And it’s taken me 23 minutes to write it down!

Maybe that enigma is true after all…

Do you believe in the 23 enigma? Or any other superstition? Get back to me! And if you like what I’ve written, tap the little green heart at the bottom.

--

--

Kung Fu Panda
Applaudience

Writer. Can consume abnormally large quantities of food. An 18-year-old trapped in an ageing body. AKA Dragon Warrior. In quest of achieving inner peace.