Roald Dahl — #100FavouriteAuthors

An author… and a fighter pilot!

Kung Fu Panda
1 min readMay 21, 2017
He immortalised a megalomaniac chocolate factory owner.

It’s difficult to remember when I first read a Roald Dahl book.

But I remember being fascinated by him when I learnt that Willy Wonka and the Chocolate Factory, the movie, was based on one of his books – Charlie and the Chocolate Factory. That’s when I started reading his work.

He’s one of the most versatile writers I know.

Be it children’s fantasy, twist-ending mysteries or just plain macabre, Dahl could write it all. Some of my favourite books of his are:

  1. James and the Giant Peach
  2. Charlie and the Chocolate Factory
  3. Fantastic Mr. Fox
  4. The BFG
  5. Matilda

My favourite short stories:

  1. The Landlady (I remember being spooked by this when I first read it.)
  2. Lamb to the Slaughter (very Edgar Allan Poe-esque)
  3. The Way Up To Heaven

That’s it for favourite author #7 – see you folks!

Archives

Neil Gaiman | Agatha Christie | Jeffrey Archer | Sidney Sheldon | Enid Blyton | Ruskin Bond | Roald Dahl

--

--

Kung Fu Panda

Writer. Can consume abnormally large quantities of food. An 18-year-old trapped in an ageing body. AKA Dragon Warrior. In quest of achieving inner peace.