Another Life ~ Short Story

Destiny Alexis Royston
19 min readJan 15, 2023

--

“Dude, what the hell I gave you the healing bombs.” Lance, my ex-boyfriend, shouted from his bedroom.

I was in the kitchen cooking breakfast for myself before rushing out to the subway. It was Monday, and I envied how Lance could laze around the house while I was busy adulting. We moved in this tiny apartment about a year ago when we knew we’d be together forever. Looking back now, I wish I could tell my past self that this would be the worse decision of my life. I’d taken out loans in my name to secure a deposit for this apartment, and the car we would share. Life seemed promising until our arguments became as common as casual conversations. Now, I’m struggling to make ends meet while Lance “looks” for work.

I can’t afford to move out, and even if I could then I wouldn’t be able to survive on my own. Passing by the hall mirror on my way out, I applied lip gloss, fixed my bangs, and gave myself a pep talk. Every day I leave out in the world, anxiety takes over me. Living in New York City has its benefits of unlimited opportunities, but I have yet to pursue them.

“Heading out!” I said as I left the door.

I wasn’t expecting him to hear me, since when he plays video games- he mutes everyone out except his teammates.

Waiting at the elevator, I began overthinking about my appearance. I tugged at my skirt, adjusted my wispy bangs again, and felt self-conscience.

“Why am I like this?” I whispered to myself.

Perhaps being with Lance with so long took a toll on how I viewed myself. He used to always call me beautiful, take me on dates, but became consumed on his game. I grabbed my mirror from my purse and checked my appearance again as the elevator finally opened.

“Clover?” I heard a familiar voice say my name.

Deep brown eyes stared at me as I stood in disbelief. A mysterious smirk, piercings on his ears and the rock band tees cause me to remember the guy I used to hang out with every day.

“Ethan?” I spoke finally, “What are you doing here?”

“Yeah, I moved here a couple weeks ago.” He stepped off the elevator and leaned against the wall. “It’s the closest apartment to this clothing store I, uh, I’m a manager there.”

He seemed proud of himself so I couldn’t help but smile for him.

“That’s great, I’m actually working at this bookstore not too far away.”

Ethan and I grew up together in our hometown, and I moved to New York City a couple years after graduation. I’d never thought he’d move here eventually too. However, if I had to choose a day I’d run into Ethan, it’d be today. Usually when I leave for work around noon. Lance would be with me to grab a bite to eat. We chatted for a moment and talked about our lives. I didn’t mention anything about Lance and gave the impression that I lived on my own, because we’re both twenty-four and it’d be fitting that we’re independent.

“You haven’t changed at all” Ethan said, eyeing my outfit.

I wore a pink skirt with stockings and an off the shoulder white top. My hair was in a low ponytail, tied with a pink scrunchie. My nails were pink, and I sported white and pink tennis. Dressing overly feminine was my own of standing out- otherwise nobody would notice I was there. I tugged at my skirt again, feeling the shyness take over, even though Ethan was like family to me.

“I can’t just give up the girly look” I responded.

“Well. I never said I didn’t like it,” Ethan trailed off, “Um, anyway I hope to see you around. It was good seeing you.”

I waved bye and headed onto the elevator.

“Actually, Clover!” Ethan ran back to elevator and kept the doors from closing.

“Tonight, I was streaming on Twitch,” he said, “I was going to play Dream Mystic: Another Life, you know that game we used to play in high school.”

I recalled seeing Dream Mystic’s developers creating a part two, but with the amount of stress I’ve gained, I haven’t had time to investigate it. It’s been a long time since I played any game other than Candy Crush on my phone. That was another thing I envied about Lance and his video gaming hobby- was that he could play his games and forget the world.

“Yeah, I mean that sounds fun.” I said cheerfully, a bit too enthusiastic. “My gamer tag is the same, Gloomy Clover.”

“I hope you’re not actually gloomy.” He with a concerned smile.

Back in high school when I first met Ethan, we exchanged gamer tags, and he asked the same thing. I had a massive crush on him, but it quickly went away when I discovered he had a girlfriend. However, seeing him right now has me wondering if those feelings ever disappeared. His hair was longer now and reached his shoulders. The black twists, the alternative style and his outgoing yet dreamy personality will always have a hold on me.

“I think we should just focus on a strategy for tonight’s play.” I said trying to lighten the mood. “Your character isn’t still the assassin, is it?”

“At least I don’t play a cute little earth nymph,” He pinched my cheek and stepped off the elevator. “See you tonight, Clover”

The elevator door closed, and my day felt brighter. Stepping into the moody city, I kept my head in the clouds. My heart fluttered in my chest, and I couldn’t stop humming. It was destined we meet today. Suddenly, my phone began to ring, and reality swooped into my clouds.

“Hey Lance.” I said, calming myself down.

Ethan was still on my mind- his smile, handsome face, and the chill in his words. I haven’t made close friends in New York, so seeing him gave me hope to meet new people.

“Could you bring some soda,” he said, mashing buttons on his controller. The clicking was annoying as I tried to make out what he was saying. “Did you hear me?”

I sighed and placed my phone on speaker. “Text me, it’s hard to hear.”

“Cool.”

He hung up before I could respond. I wonder if I was ever like that when I was an avid gamer. My mom was super annoyed by me when I would pull all-nighters and then must force me out of bed in the morning for school. Making my way down the busy street, I realized how late I was for my shift. Talking to Ethan caused me to run behind, but luckily, it’s a great excuse to commute by subway. New York’s subway system is a nightmare and something I could never become accustomed to.

The sun shined brightly, but clouds were coming into view. I forgot to bring an umbrella even though I knew there would be rain. I scanned for a store around me to purchase an umbrella, and that’s when I saw her.

“Those are free if you buy another one, miss!” Persephone said to a customer approaching her.

The customer did a 180 and returned down an aisle. I walked shyly to Persephone, not sure how this conversation would go, but once upon a time we were best friends. In high school, we were inseparable- like sisters. She was like me in every way, except more honest with herself.

“No freaking way!” Persephone said with a wide smile. “Clover!”

She leapt from behind the counter and gave me a hug, almost lifting me from the ground.

“No way, no freaking way.” She kept saying.

Persephone was always the talkative one between us. She was self-assured of herself all the time and didn’t care about what others thought of her.

“Persephone, I can’t believe you’re here.”

Suddenly, I felt a hand press against my back. I spun around and a guy was standing there, holding a stack of obscene magazines.

“Um-” I began to say, but Persephone stepped in front of me.

“Uh-huh, you are not about to be a creep to her,” she said snatching a magazine from him. “And where is your damn shame, man you’re walking around with this kind of stuff and have the audacity to flirt with women way out of your league.”

The guy looked startled, but Persephone seemed to not notice.

“I mean you come in here every day and buy the weirdest things; don’t you have a life?” she snatched another magazine from him, “And starting today, we have a limit of what you can buy.”

The man stepped back. “Miss, I’m delivering these to a customer. I work for Door Dash, and I come here because orders happen here often.”

Persephone crossed her arms, seeming pleased with herself and questioning everything the guy was saying.

“This is my fourth time telling you this,” he said, “And I just needed help checking these out, that’s why I approached you two.”

Persephone placed the two magazines she grabbed from the man back into his hands and leapt back over the counter.

“Well then, why didn’t you just say something dude.” She said checking him out.

She didn’t seem like the type to be so bold, based on her looks, anyone would take her as a soft-spoken introvert like me. Persephone dressed like me, but a bit more edgy. She sported an anime girl tattoo on her shoulder and wore Doc Martens with every outfit. The girly side of her never stopped wearing butterfly hair clips in her blonde locks and she always wore fishnets.

“See you tomorrow Seymore!” she said giving the bags to him.

The man grabbed his bags and waved Persephone bye with an annoyed look on his face.

“He’s always so kind, why can’t more people be like him.” She said checking her nails.

“You knew his name?” I asked.

“Of course, girl, I know all of my customers names.” She leaned in towards me in the counter, “I know all their businesses. For instance, Seymore likes the cat lady over there.”

She pointed at a fragile, older woman looking at cat food.

“And she likes cats.”

I gave Persephone a puzzled look, but it just reminded me of our misadventures in school.

“I’ve been meaning to text you sometime, it’s just that so much has been happening.” I said, digging through my purse for my mirror.

“I understand, life has been hard huh?” she looked off and then watched me look into my mirror.

“Still second guessing how beautiful you look?” she said.

“I, um, no.”

She grabbed my mirror and placed it in her pocket.

“I promise you; you look like a princess.”

She gave me a smile and I hadn’t realized how much I missed her smile. Her genuine smile that helped me through so many of my bad days.

“Besides, I’ve been in New York for almost two months now. I should’ve told you I moved here, but I wanted to get my life together first.”

The cat lady approached the counter with the pet food and nodded at me.

“Let me guess, your favorite color is pink.” She jokingly said, looking at my outfit.

Persephone chuckled.

“Her favorite color is black like her soul. The pink is a cover-up, but soon her true self will emerge and flood this city with darkness and-”

“Persephone!” I said stopping her.

“Oh. Sorry, I overdo it sometimes.” She passed the bags to the woman, “Forgive me Angela.”

The woman walked away looking confused at us and then hurried out.

“This is a fun job!” she said gleaming.

“I think you just enjoy messing with people.” I said gazing out the window.

The clouds began to darken and then I realized the reason I even came out into this city toady.

“Damn!” I spoke. “I’m like almost an hour late for work”

Persephone snapped her fingers.

“That’s the Clover I know. The swearing princess who’s absent-minded way too much.”

I ran down each aisle looking for an umbrella, but no luck.

“If you’re looking for an umbrella, then you won’t find it here. It’s the one thing this cluttered store doesn’t sell.” She said pulling out her phone. “Hey, have you played this game Dynamite Wives on the phone? You must guess which wife is hiding the dynamite, and if you guess wrong then everyone blows up. It’s hilarious!”

“Actually, no I haven’t” I upsettingly said.

It seems like I just need to accept that I could lose my job today. The guy who I’m supposed to let go when I get to work is more than likely upset.

“Oh, Persephone, I saw Ethan today.” I said twirling her hair around my finger.

“Your little crush? That Ethan?”

She tapped her nails against the counter and gave me a sly smile.

“Seriously. I don’t like him anymore; we just ran into each other.” I said, “Like I ran into you.”

“Hm, that’s fate huh? The old gang’s all here, well, except for Gabriel.”

“Gabriel is in London, working for the huge gaming company, Peppy Gaming.”

Persephone’s eyes lowered. “Right, he is making it big, huh?” she grabbed a pen and my arm and began writing her number on my arm.

“Well, we’re businesswomen, right?” she said, “I’m having this art show in a few weeks and you’re out there living big.”

I smiled small, thinking about that lie I told Ethan about living on my own.

“This is my number girly, hit me up sometime.”

“Why not just put my number in your phone-”

“But I wanted to show off my cute handwriting.” She said playfully pouting. “And if you and Ethan, you know play around with each other, then invite me. My gamertag is AngelBaddie”

“What do you mean by that?” I said feeling my face turn red.

“Huh, of because I’m an angel and a baddie, duh.”

“No, I mean the playing around part-”

Persephone leapt over the counter and lightly pushed me out the door.

“Bye princess!” she said waving, “Don’t get fired.”

I crossed out every excuse I could give when I arrived at work. Ever since I was in grade school, I had an issue with time management. If a project were due or I had an important deadline, I would more than likely miss it. Walking into the bookstore, I captivated by the smell of stale books, brewing coffee and the scent of candles.

“About time.” A frustrated voice said.

“I’m really sorry.” I grabbed my apron from behind the desk and draped it over my carefully picked out outfit. “So much was happening on my way to work”

My co-worker was already out the door before I clock in, but it was my own carelessness for having them wait on me. The day went on like usual- couples browsed the romance section, loners spent time together in the comic aisle and then there was me, gazing out the window at the city I used to dream about living in. My life had become a routine and I hadn’t realized it until I bumped into Ethan and Persephone.

Rain began to trickle down the window and people sheltered inside until they could call a taxi. I gritted my teeth at the thought of having to walk in the rain and ruining my hair. Rainy days at work made business extra slow, so I decided to take an early break and browse down the aisle of Young Adult literature. It was small yet roomy bookstore, which had two stories of books and an area for coffee and pastries. I felt solitude as the last customer left the bookstore and I could finally have this peaceful atmosphere to myself.

“Hello?” a voice chimed as the front door opened and slammed closed. “Is anyone back there?”

I jumped and peeked from a bookshelf. The voice sounded upset and I despised confrontations. I hurried to the front of the bookstore and asked what he was looking for.

“I need a book on coding,” he reached in his laptop bag and pulled out a dated book about programming, “This is volume 3, do you have volume 4?”

“Let me check.”

I checked on the computer from behind the desk and found that the volume he needed was located at a different bookstore.

“I can place it on hold if you like.” I adjusted my apron and wished that Persephone returned my pocket mirror to me. “But I seriously doubt anyone will check it out before you.”

He chuckled and placed the book back in his bag.

“Thanks, I’ll check it out.”

He turned around and I noticed his cell phone sticking out from his back pocket, having the Dream Mystic symbol as his phone case.

“Hey, I play that game too. The sequel is already out.” I spoke.

I’m usually not the one to start conversations with complete strangers but since though we have similar interests caused me to break out of my shyness.

“Not too many people like Dream Mystic, especially the puzzle sequences. Good to know that this city has people of culture.” He said turning to face me.

“Wait, Gabriel?” I squinted my eyes as if it would change the view of the person I was seeing. “I honestly couldn’t recognize you without your beanie.”

But it was him, and how couldn’t I figure it sooner. Gabriel always wore a beanie, with his dark hair sticking from beneath, and he was the type you’d find at a skate park, not in a suit like he is now.

“You’re wearing a suit, huh?” I laughed as he playfully posed.

“Yeah, well you know if the job calls for a suit and tie, then I must oblige.”

Gabriel worked in London, so I’m assuming he’s visiting New York. Afterall, when high school ended, Gabriel immediately transferred to a college in the United Kingdom. He had received a full scholarship and a plan to major in Computer Science. Not long after he began interning at a major gaming company and eventually began working as a beta tester. He was the first to stop playing video games with us, as the life of an adult was calling.

“I think it’s so amazing that testing games is your career.” I gleamed.

All my friends had a great handle on life- Ethan living on his own and supporting himself, Persephone having her own art show and Gabriel living his dream. I couldn’t help but reflect on my life and pick up the pieces that could make my life stand out.

“And here you are, surrounded by books. I remember you would read so much in school.” Gabriel said looking around the store.

“Yeah, it’s cozy here.”

“Plus, you can actually support yourself in this city, I know rent isn’t cheap.”

“Right, all on my own.” I said quietly.

The rain began to fall harder and just like how I felt on the inside, a storm was on the way. I wished I lived on my own, but there is no viable way of me making enough working here and paying rent without help. That’s an excuse I tell myself, but the truth is, I could work somewhere else that paid better, but maybe I just didn’t want to be alone.

“I’m here on business, but it was good seeing you, Clover.” He began walking towards the door and then looked my way.

“On my here I saw Persephone. I spoke to her and well, let’s just say she’s still the same spunky girl I cherish.”

“Persephone is one of kind. I hadn’t seen her in so long until today, and I ran into Ethan today. Now it’s you- I wonder what this all means.”

“It means the old squad is back together.” He passed me his phone. “I need your number again and I’ll text you my gamer tag. Persephone mentioned a gaming event happening tonight.”

I gave Gabriel my number and reminisced how all four of us would spend our weekends either gaming or hanging out. Moments I wished would have never ended.

“Oh, and this umbrella is for.” Gabriel said handing it to me. “Persephone mentioned how you needed one and so I bought one for you on my way here. I wasn’t going to give it to you unless you recognized me, of course.” He said winking at me.

It was almost seven when I closed the store and skipped all the way to a nearby market. I picked up the items that Lance texted me and all the while, I was on cloud nine. When I made it home, Lance was in the living room watching television and gave me a lazy wave as I walked past him.

“How was work?” he asked, even though I knew he didn’t really care.

“I ran into old friends. We’re going to play a game tonight.”

He looked at me confused and then started laughing.

“Is it one of those farming games?” he asked, seeming intrigued that I play video games.

“You know, before we met, I played video games just as much as you. A few games were farming simulations but-”

“Babe, when you can get a high rank in Fortnite, then you can gloat.”

I knew he didn’t mean any harm by what he said, but it showed me just how much he didn’t really know me. Then again, I wasn’t too open about my hobbies other than reading and writing, yet a part of me wished that Lance would have asked to know more about me anyway. When we moved in together, it felt rushed, but it was happening so fast, and I thought this relationship was perfect. I headed in my room and began downloading Dream Mystic: Another Life. At least in this world, I could design my own life.

GloomyClover (Clover)– Online

AngelBaddie (Persephone)- Online

DauntingWolf (Gabriel)- Online

BlackxReaper (Ethan)- Online

“Please tell me that I’m not only one with a new gamer tag.” Persephone said, smacking lips on the mic, “I mean come on Ethan, BlackxReaper is so childish”

I chuckled while Ethan gave a long, drawn-out sigh.

“Your name has ‘Baddie’ in it. Do I need to go on?”

Persephone began chewing gum and smacking as I loaded into the game.

“Hey, did you guys get my invite-” Gabriel began to say.

“Because I am one!” Persephone interrupted, “And an angel. You just put an x between black and reaper like you’re shipping them”

“So? It means what it supposed to means.” Ethan responded. “And stop smacking, it’s annoying.”

“Dude, when you put an x between things then it means you’re shipping them. For instance, like Ethan x Clover” she said holding in laughter.

“Persephone, really?” I called out.

“What girl? It was an example, that’s all”

“Let’s hope your gaming is better than your lame ass jokes” Ethan mumbled.

“Speak up man who ships a color with a reaper-”

“Guys, did you all get the invites?” Gabriel snapped.

“Yeah dude, we’re waiting on you.” Ethan said casually while me and Persephone began laughing.

It was like old times with Ethan and Persephone bickering and Gabriel spamming everyone with multiple invites. Our characters spawned into the game, and we were all together in a mystical forest. We all chose our original characters with customizations- I was the earth nymph who carried a bow and arrow, Persephone was the forest elf that would deal damage with poison, Gabriel’s character was a wizard that healed the team with potions and Ethan was the quick and stealthy assassin.

“Dude what the hell.” Ethan began laughing and soon Persephone followed.

“Um Gabriel, your character has pink hair.” I said, eyeing the pink haired wizard.

“Yeah, I thought it looked cool” he responded as he made his character to start dancing.

“I’m sorry Gabriel, but why does your character remind me of that goth kid from math. The one who dyed his hair a wacky color every week, so not cool.” Persephone joked.

“At least everything else on my character looks like me. Since when you grew boobs in real life?”

Ethan roared with laughter and Persephone couldn’t help but laugh too.

“Man, this feels like old times.” She giggled.

“Yeah, but why does Clover have a sidekick already.” Gabriel said and everyone faced to look at me. “A little happy cat that’s not leaving your side.”

“Oh, when I was making my character, I was asked if I needed a guide and if I completed it, then I would gain this cute kitty as a permanent sidekick.” I gushed, looking at the kitty that looked happy by my side.

“That’s just like you Clover, always wanting the cutest thing.” Ethan teased.

“Double tap x to double jump!” the kitty said in a high-pitched voice.

Everyone groaned as they realized that the kitty would give random tips throughout the first level. We travelled through the forest in record timing, and before we knew it, we had all completed the first, second and third level. My kitty sidekick still gave tips despite everyone’s pleads to remove it, but little did they know was that I was trolling them by keeping his guide mode turned on. We had finally reached a new area, away from the mystical forest and began proceeding through a village with realistic non-playable characters.

“Hey, let’s do this mission.” Persephone said, “We have to kill the three-headed deer in a forest.”

“But we just left the forest.” Ethan sighed”

“Yeah, but it’s double XP if we complete it today.” She insisted.

Ethan and Persephone began bickering again, so I travelled to nearby lake and looked over at the scenery. It was beautiful and serene, and I so wished I could live inside this game. The creators of this game knew what they were doing when they called the sequel Another Life.

“I knew it was a farming game.” Lance said standing behind me.

I jumped, not knowing he was behind me.

“What, no it isn’t-”

“And who were you talking to?” he asked.

“My old friends I told you about.”

“Sure, well when the fighting begins, let me know.” Lance said leaving my room.

I rolled my eyes and returned to the group in the village. It was silent and then I realized I hadn’t realized my microphone was unmuted.

“Was that a man in your bedroom girly?” Persephone asked. Even though I knew she was joking and trying to lighten the mood, I could hear the concern in her voice.

“Um, yeah, my ex-boyfriend.” I said in a whisper.

The lie I made couldn’t get even a past a day before I confessed.

“It’s just that, I knew you all were living the lives you wanted and being independent, that I felt insecure about my own situation. I cannot afford to live on my own right now, it’s just the way it is.”

Saying it aloud made me feel better, but did not change the reality I was in. Nobody said anything for a moment, and then I heard a quiet giggle.

“Actually, I think it’s brave of you to be honest with us.” Persephone said. “And it’s funny, I haven’t been truthful to you guys. I don’t have an art show coming up. I never even qualified for one- all I do for my art is accept commissions and sell them online.”

“Your art is amazing Persephone, I’m sure you’ll get there any day now.” I reassured.

“Yeah, I mean I remember in school, people would be so readily to buy your pieces, it’s only a matter of time now.” Ethan recalled.

“Persephone your art is ethereal and Clover, your poems can move anyone- creativity is looked over so much but I believe in you two.” Gabriel comforted.

My heart leapt in that moment- being honest and vulnerable around the ones I consider family.

“Nonetheless, having a college degree is looked over too nowadays. The gaming company I interned at didn’t hire me and so I just code for a small tech company in London. It pays well but it’s not what I want to do forever.” Gabriel admitted.

“You could literally start your own gaming company with the amount of knowledge you have for it.”

Gabriel chuckled and agreed.

“Well, since everyone is being honest, I’m not a manager at clothing store and I don’t want to be. I stream on Twitch and make money from there.” Ethan said.

“Dude that’s so impressive,” Persephone exclaimed. “Shout me out sometime.”

Everyone laughed and the mood gained its playfulness again. We progressed through a rainy forest as our conversations drifted from our lives to our dreams. We’re still young and if we have each other, the other trials in life and in games will seem like a bump in the road. The forest was ahead of us, and since we leveled up since returning to the forest, the monsters were harder as well.

“Come on everyone,” Ethan said, “We need to show Clover’s little ex-boyfriend how real gamers play.”

My little sidekick kitty cheered beside me saying, “Remember to have fun!”

--

--

Destiny Alexis Royston

I’m a writer and journalist who wishes to spend my life creating and sharing beautiful stories.