The broke donkey kong

Writing Sprinters
2 min readFeb 28, 2019

--

By Aswath Raj

Series : Image + Text

Source: https://www.freepik.com/free-photos-vectors/window-peek

Okay let me get this straight, I am 8 years old, so I’m not a kid
anymore. Also, I know how to ride a bike without training wheels but
I still dunno why I’m going to school. Before we get too far with this,
my name is Liza, Liza Simpson; my second name is not Simpson
because of my dad’s name its because my dad’s a fan of the show and I
was named after a character in it.

My dad’s name Dwight Schrute, he works in the airport, he makes sure the airplanes get to the airport, without getting hurt. Other than that, he drinks beer and watches baseball after he comes home.

Oh! and before I forget, its winter, and it snowed yesterday so school is off. The lady inside the television said there was going to be a blizzard which got me really exited but dad said it wasn’t going to be the one that comes in cones.

When I woke up this morning, dad had already left for work, so my brother Bart made me my bowl of cereal and went on to play his game. He said if could finish fast, I could join in on his game. So, I choked in some cereal and ran to go join in on the fun.

That’s when I saw it!

I ran across the window, hopped on to the ottoman, cupped my hands and brought my face closer on the glass. I licked the glass and looked through. It wasn’t Halloween, Halloween was just the other week. This older kid from school, Kevin was dressed as Donkey Kong, going from doorstep to doorstep, screaming “Trick or treat!”. That’s when a light bulb went off on my head I could do the same whenever my mom wouldn’t give me any candies.

So I have written down this incident, and taped it on the same window, to remind me that I have an unlimited supply of candy as long as I have a new costume.

--

--