Sugar Likes to Linger

William Robinson
4 min readMar 9, 2024
Image form Julie’s Eats N Treats

While walking to create a Digital Twin of a dental office in the Noe Valley neighborhood in San Francisco today, I had to stop, back up a few steps, lean into my left side and inhale deeply to experience this incredible aroma. Ha, no, not pot or poop.

The scent of freshly made Cinnamon Twists with the perfect toasty surface, and crunch to the crust. Plus you can tell by the strength of the aroma that the Cinnamonisugary mix has enough extra Cinnamon and brown sugar to put them at the edge of being totally decadent. Seeing the drizzled buttery, vanilla cream frosting on the top made them even closer to Decadent. Hmmm, I thought.

I had to start my 3D scanning job on the second floor, directly above the bakery. And for the next hour and a half I was forced to inhale this delicious, mouth-watering, brain controlling aromatic, very-very close to being a decadent drug of Cinnamon Twists. Hmm, I thought. Probably going to have to check them out when I’m done.

About 5 minutes into scanning my brain started to dig deeply into the deposits made in my memory bank over the years trying to remember the last time I made Cinnamon Twists. The Decadent Twists my mother taught me to make. I’m thinking maybe in my thirties or forties? Maybe one of my kids will remember. I do know I made them several times after getting married and moving out of my parents home.

--

--

William Robinson

I Finally kicked my sugar addiction in 2021 and discovered the world of molecular level nutrition and want to share it with others .