SKGS Finishes off successful season

Will Moffatt
1 min readDec 10, 2015

--

The South Kingstown girls’ soccer team completed another successful playoff season with a record of 9–6. The Rebels ended behind crosstown rival North Kingstown in the standings, but the team was generally satisfied with their run.

Senior Christina Armstrong said, “We had a great year. I’m proud of all my girls.”

For many of the Rebel seniors, this was their final season of competitive soccer. A majority of the senior girls have been playing on both travel and school teams since elementary school, something that created long lasting friendships among them.

Captain Bridget Montle will remain fond of the bonds she formed, saying, “I’ll always remember my teammates and coaches.” Montle also appreciated her parents efforts. “They supported me through everything,” she said.

The journey is not over for a few of the Rebel seniors, including senior standout Bell Pesante who is moving on to play college soccer at the University of New Hampshire next fall. Even for those whose best soccer days are still ahead of them, playing their last game for their town was a special thing.

“I’m very excited for the challenge of college soccer,” the star forward reflected, “ but I’m extremely grateful for everything SK soccer has done for me.”

--

--