Project 2: Type Hierarchy

William Su
7 min readNov 7, 2017

--

Part 1:

1. Stroke Weights

It is commonly known that the weight the letterforms implies it’s “importance” in comparison to it’s surrounding information. If it’s thick, it signals a higher importance. Hence the reason why titles or other important information are thick. I used that fundamental as the basis for my explorations in the first part.

I applied thick text to the dates, contact info, website links, and the name of the performances. The reason being is expected the reader to want to know the dates of the performance and to be able to distinguish which performance is which (name of the performance). The website links and contact info are important as well as they lead the viewer to more information. The title needed to be big in order to draw attention.

On the other hand, if these performances were directed by famous people, the viewer would probably be most interested in that kind of information.

2. Linespacing

I pretty much treated line spacing as separators of information.

1,2,3 (Left to right)

In the first iteration, I separated the title, performance information, website, and phone number since they were completely different kinds of information. The second iteration simply split the title, website, and phone from the body text (performance info). The third iteration kept the website and phone number together since they were ways for the viewer to get more info. I found that this method of hierarchy through line spacing helps make information easier to identify and faster to get through.

3–4. Horizontal Shifts

I found that horizontal shifts were kind of a mix between the stroke weight and line spacing in terms of hierarchy. The can both separate info and imply significance.

Part 2: Use of Color

I experimented with the use of color as the background, in the type, and in combination. Drawing from what I learned in color class, I found red to be a very eye catching color. For a poster about a theatre company that is trying to make bold statements and experimentation, red seems to be fitting for this. I found that the red as a background color helps highlight important information in the hierarchy.

Part 3: Use of Pictures/Graphics

I found incorporating images to be the hardest part in trying to define a hierarchy on the spread. Pictures are dense packets of information that draws the eye of the viewer. I have to find a good way to balance what the image is telling and the text that goes along with it. I felt that for the poster, a dramatic vibe would go nicely with it. Theatre’s often have a dark stage setting, the forms in these images also have to exude some kind of drama as well. I decided to use actual images from Quantum Theatre (both past and present performances). I got a bit of criticism from this since it seems I placed more importance on one performance than giving all three equal treatment. I would then try to make the graphics seem more ambiguous in my next variations.

I know that posters are often organized in a portrait orientation but I wanted to try out what a landscape layout might potentially look like. I realized that a portrait form signals greater importance in comparison to a landscape orientation.

I used three columns in organizing the performance informations but I felt it created space too dense with words on a poster. I would eventually shift to a two column hierarchy.

Final Poster Prototypes:

My first set of prototypes took into mind the shift from literal pictures to graphics. I liked the image of the two men, one holding a gun and the other a pen at each other. It was great for creating something “dramatic”. I started leaning towards a black and red color scheme due to the bold vibes I was trying to create. I also experimented with compliments like yellow and purple to see what a fun and exciting kind of vibe would seem like. Overall, the hierarchy was all over the place. The graphics took up so much attention and most viewers gravitated to looking at the top and bottom rather than the text.

In these next variations, I attempted to try and blend forms with each other in order to carve out more attention for the text. I tried different kinds of contrasts in the color, ranging from analogous relations to intensity. I felt that the text needed to be on a darker background in order for it to pop up against it. The darker color is also used in the form of the graphics. In order to highlight form, the brighter color is used to create a silhouette effect. The infor text is arranged in a two column hierarchy. I tried putting the date on the left and then the name of the performance. Putting the name seem to make more sense on the left since it has slightly more importance than the date. From this I learned positioning of the text can be used to highlight other text.

I tried out yellow text since it was a complement (or split complement) to the dark blue/purple color. I liked how dynamic the text looked after this change and it also reminded me of the color scheme from the older batman television shows (very fitting for performances/drama). Eventually I settled for a purple on red with yellow text combination. I felt it created the vibes for boldness, curiosity, and fun. I also moved the “2017–2018 season” text to the title because of its closer relationship with that information.

The Final Poster

--

--