Big data made me do it.

Going “Nerd” viral

Josh Lee

--

I am so fed up with people saying “Big Data”.

They use it like they use “Skeuomorphic”.

No understanding, just a buzzword to make themselves sound educated.

Out of this frustration one of us said something about Big Data. Then one of us said something about Star Trek The Next Generation (ST:TNG) .

boom.

Magic happened. We went on a 10 minute rant about how funny it would be to see a big “Data” from ST:TNG walking in a city, all Godzilla-like.

That was 7 months ago.

Fast forward to 1/17/14

Someone in the office said, “blah, blah, blah…Big Data, blah, blah, blah” .

That was it.

I stopped what I was doing and scoured the internet for a nice high res pic of “Data” and a cool picture of San Francisco ferry building and started working on it. It took like 10 minutes.

Here is the pic.

Original Comp

I then tweeted that picture and thought with a hope that “Ha, maybe a couple of my buds will like it, maybe they will give me a fav or something.”

I posted that pic at 12:10pm by 9:31pm I had 717 RT’s and 408 Fav’s.

https://twitter.com/wtrsld/status/424413608961794048

I shit a brick.

Nothing I had ever done had mattered on twitter ever. Not even the birth of my daughter got more that a couple fav’s and rt’s.

This was amazing. All through the night I was showing anyone who would look that I had just gotten 15 more RT’s. My phone would not shut up about it.

Funny thing was this picture hit a nerve with a bunch of computer science peeps who also loved ST:NG. A bunch of them asked to use the pic, I gave them the psd https://twitter.com/wtrsld/status/424364245648564226

It seems that they wanted to use it in the presentations about Big Data or just cc a friend on twitter with the joke.

Some very funny off shoots happened of people talking about the Tasha yar and Data hook up ;)

It was amazing.

Then Brent Spiner, the actor who played Data in ST:TNG tweeted the pic out.

Screenshot of Brent’s tweet

Pretty damn cool.

The lights are dimmer now that the fire has died down but I get a couple RT’s here and there.

At the time of writing this post I have 2,929 RT’s and 1,489 Fav’s.

Thanks for laughing with me.

--

--