finding I

poem by parth gupta | january 2023

Parth Gupta
1 min readDec 24, 2023

i
grew up trying to understand
I
and
my
true identity

Am i
american
or
indian
or a bit of both?

should i speak in
english
ya
hindi
ya dono ka thoda sa?

i can’t
let go of
My Roots
Mera Ghar
who am i?
main kaun hoon?

i need now to
sprach
deutsch
aber ich kann kein
deutsch
sprechen

i am lost in a world of
cultures
and
sprachen
Who am i?
Wer bin ich?

or am i
a bit
of all three
cultures
with language
a way to bring
them
closer

or maybe
where
i am from
is just a matter of
where
i am

in america
i
was
from india

but
in germany
i
am
american

however in
india
i
will always be
a foreigner

my identity is from many
states
so what is the state of my
identity?

and so
i
still sit
here
trying to find the
‘i’
in my identity

and who I
really is

someone
whom i can’t seem to
find

--

--

Parth Gupta

I'm a 10th grade Indian-American living in Berlin since 2021. I mostly write about current news, but also share my travel stories, poems, and experiences.