REVIEW 6: OLOGY

Jarren Ryan
4 min readFeb 12, 2017

While I was working at the office, I just received a text from my boss telling me to take some good time on a casual Friday afternoon, and to give him my review on this album. So, Martin, here is it :

I have to admit that I wasn’t confident with the music genre of this album. I’m definitely quite apart of the “R&B/Soul” world, but I was like “Well, why not ?” and then started almost one hour of a delicious discovery …

The album opening song is “First” and crossover into the very jazzy-soul “Talking To Myself”, which made me find out a, indeed different, but pleasant atmosphere, with a sensual and slow rythm which is lifted by the high notes of the singer. And this is how I started appreciate the talent of Gallant.

When “Shotgun” started playing, the voice of the 25-years-old singer reminded me of Jussie Smollett’s one, a.K.a Jamal Lyon in the TV show “Empire”.

“Bourbon” was the first song that got my attention : the light production, the flying chorus and always this sensual ambiance was the perfect match for me. In the same time, I’m kind of obsessed with the lyrics-work, which are thousands miles away from what we uses to hear on the radio, and I’m still wondering why we don’t heard this high-level kind of music more often, but whatever.

“Bone + Tissue” is in the same level line of “Bourbon” but with a more deep and dark vibes. The acapela last chorus got me breathless with the gospel style, and end wonderfully well the first part of the album, just before the “Oh Universe” Interlude.

Through this first part of “Ology”, I started my journey by entering into a different style of music, but so far, this is good, but nothing exceptional, except the quality of the writings.

But then, “Weight in Gold” started, and all my first opinions were blew away. The first single of the album is like a perfect storm, with so much strength and energy through all the track, the severed chorus “I’m pulling my weight — in — gold” and the changement of notes made so easily, mixed with all those R&B’s vibes, highlighted by the contrast with the peaceful verse, made of “Weight in Gold” the perfect single. The track “Open Up” is in the same line, but in a more casual way, for those who could find “Weight In Gold” too shrilly.

When “Episode” started right after the very good “Weight in Gold”, I started really focusing on the next tracks. The 8th song of the album was truly interesting because of the 80’s vibes : more pop, and with more high notes, this song is simply divine. Added to that the amazing lyrics, which are quite opposing the general atmosphere.

My very very favorite song of “Ology” is probably “Counting”. When the song started, Gallant almost whisper, forever and always in this sensual atmosphere, and then … the first chorus impacted by ears, and what an amazing sound. What makes this song what it is is all of what it’s constituted of : the chorus, the little asian instrumental just between the verse and the chorus, the deep and energy which emerged from that song, the hook, or the so well-written lyrics, without forget the dark, mysterious electro sound in the end which move on “Percogesic”. With that one, Gallant go back to a style more close from “Bourbon”, and calm down the craze from its predecessor.

“Skipping Stones” has nothing particular to say, except the fact that it’s the only track in the album who got a featuring with Jhéné Aiko who DE-FI-NETE-LY owns the second verse perfectly with her smoothy voice.

And to close “Ology” we’ve got “Chandra”. The track began with a very sensitive Gallant, which almost bring me tears. The orchestral right after the chorus give a brand new dimension to the whole album. With simplicity, the singer delivered a very moving performance on this track, which end the album.

So I have to admit that I couldn’t thought of listening to this masterpice by my own. But, wow, what a relief to be lucky enough to. Gallant, which I saw right after I listened to the album, is nominated tonight (02.12.17) at the Grammy Awards in the “Best Urban Contemporary Album” category, right next to the biggest artists in the industry like Beyoncé with “Lemonade” or “ANTi” by Rihanna. But we’re not safe from a surprise as at the 2015 Grammy Awards, when everybody thought that Beyoncé will won the “Album of the Year” but Beck did. So, wait and see.

★★★★☆

--

--