On Creating a Custom Password (and more) Generator Extension

Gustavo Silva
8 min readMar 1, 2024

While I use Apple’s Keychain along with the Apple’s iCloud Passwords Chrome Extension for password management, there are times when this combination doesn’t quite meet my needs. Accessing Keychain, I can generate and store new passwords, which are then easy to use on websites. However, my requirements often go beyond just generating random passwords.

I often need to provide my clients with random passwords, and I find mnemonic passwords invaluable — they offer better security than the typical complex, symbol-heavy passwords that often lead to typos on mobile devices and can cause account lockouts. I receive many ‘awww’s’ when people see that their password is ‘Love-sea-poem-8008’. I began using them for myself back in 2014 with “I-have-to-quit-smoking”. And hey, it worked.

Driven by these challenges, I decided to develop my own custom randomness generator in the format of a Chrome Extension. This tool is tailored to my personal needs, allowing me to create both simple and complex passwords directly in the browser. It also generates custom UUIDs according to our specifications, supports UUIDv4, and enables me to create pseudo-mnemonic passwords in both Portuguese and English.

Scaffolding the Extension Folder and Files:

--

--

Gustavo Silva

Crafting code, making music & living stories. Sharing slices of life.