The Orgy Scam

Xabier Cid
9 min readFeb 22, 2016

While on Grindr today, I have been approached by a really hot guy called Jasper. Sadly, time goes on, and it is increasingly difficult for me to be approached by really hot guys. That’s life, I guess. Then when it happens there is always a combination of excitement and caution. That hot guy asked me whether I would be interested into join an orgies group.

Sure, I thought. Although I have some reservations on the efficiency of orgies (difficult to organise, difficult to keep people interested, difficult to make something sexual happen with lots of planning), it is always worth a try. So Jasper sent to me a loooong text with instructions about this orgies group. That text contains some relevant informations:

We are an organization that seriously value discretion. We’d like to protect the identity of our members because most of them are married.

Uhm, my knowledge of English is still not deep enough, but I know that organizing is American spelling, which is odd as I (and I guess Jasper) live in the UK. Did this guy come from the States to my tiny town to promote orgies? The second odd thing is that affirmation about married men. Certainly there are some married men who want to join gay orgies, but I doubt they are the most important group among gay people. Is not just a bit of an exaggeration? Then the text says that they will not give me too much information about the group, such as where and when the next party will take place, to protect the privacy of members: I need to join the group first. The trap is set.

So he, Jasper, referred me to a new man, Mr. Nathan Peter Lopez (nplopez0508@gmail.com). That man, a group moderator, will ask me some questions to allow me to join the group. To do so, I have to send an email to him stating on the subject of the message just one thing, my location. In this case, my location is Stirling, a tiny Scottish town of just 40,000 inhabitants.

First tip: if you want to scam someone, do not use a name as unlikely as Nathan Peter Lopez. The first and only reference of Google for that name is this post titled Is this a scam or not?. Second tip, do not use a Latino name if you try to scam people in the UK.

Then, written in caps, a long notice. Among the main points of that notice, written without any punctuation mark, is the following text.

MEDICAL CHECK UP IS REQUIRED TO AVOID HIV’s.

The ‘s is in the original message. This is again strange, as a medical check up is only relevant if sex would be unprotected. But as the pattern is the same as in the post, I decided to follow the scam.

Jasper’s message

I sent an email to Nathan stating my location and he quickly replied with this email:

Hi my name is Nathan Peter Lopez and I will be your group moderator.
You’ve chosen the right group! What is Orgy all about.
Swinger’s Group is like a normal swinger’s party, but in our group you don’t have to come with your partner. Instead you can just choose your own partner before the event. we are an organization that holds orgy parties 2 to 3 times a month. And only members are allowed to join. This is a serious and very discreet organization, although we are a group who’s committed to fun, Still our priority is to be discreet to provide privacy to our members.

Now let me ask you some questions.
What’s your name (Full name and Nick name)?
Where do you live?
What time(s) and days are you mostly free?
Do you ever fantasize about having a threesome?
What about having an orgy with a group of people?

Please, if you want to really deceive people, do it in a professional way. Having the name of the group mistaken (Orgy Group or Swinger’s Group?) does not help you to create an environment of trust. The set of questions is interesting: the first three pretend that they are doing some actual orgy planning, although I would ask other relevant questions if you want to get some people having sex to each other. The fourth and fifth questions are there to get me horny and to switch off my rational brains. But a threesome? How exciting is a threesome for the average Grindr user?

After my answers, Nathan’s second email is interesting, as he is offering himself as my partner in the orgy. Oh, do I need a partner? It happens that I already have one, but let’s try Nathan for the occasion. Then he asks me about the use of drugs and the use of alcohol (back to “this is a serious business”), as they are forbidden. I don’t use drugs apart from caffeine, but surely I would not admit I am if I have been advised that drug consumers would not be allowed.

His next email starts as

So far so good. Here’s a photo of me for you to have an idea on how I look like.
This is for your eyes only.Can I also have your photo?
By the way, Here in our group, We have our terms and conditions,
Read it below then tell me if you agree on it.

Before going into the terms and conditions, these are some pictures of Nathan.

The different pattern of tattoos in the three versions of Nathan is the most likely thing on all this scam, as other people show pictures of themselves 10 years ago, when they were slimmer, younger and grew some hair still. Maybe not just other people, also me.

The terms are introduced by four paragraphs of alleged legal text, followed by this

TO BECOME A MEMBER:
You must register to our “Orgy Sponsor Site”.
You must agree in our Terms and Condition.
Attend to our Medical Check-Up.
Requirements at the Event:
1 Valid I.D (Government I.D, Driver’s License etc.).
Copy of your Invitation.
Copy of Receipt of your Payment.
Costume (Greek Theme with Mask).
Medical Certificate (Medical Check-up will be conducted a day or two prior to the party dat
e).

In the UK we have no government IDs (nor we call government to our government) and we don’t spell license (maybe Mr Lopez does). I knew about the Greek mask because of that post, so no surprises there, but this is the first reference to… money! In the fifth message.

Then I asked Nathan about unprotected sex and medical check-ups, and he answered that I still need to use condoms. Well that’s reassuring, but then why the need for medical check-ups? So I asked him about Nathan’s location. If we are going to go to the same party, we have to know where I have to pick him up. His answer, obviously, as it has been stated by me from the very beginning, is Stirling. But, dear Nathan, do you really think that a man of your characteristics will be living in Stirling without my knowledge?

With that answer he also includes this text

Before the Party, we require a Medical Check-Up to be taken at a Private Clinic that our Private Doctors owned. This is to assure that every one of us is not an STD carrier. Once your done with the test, You will receive your medical certificate. We will provide everything that you need once you get there. As of now we have 11 who have secured a slot for our next Orgy party. We only need 5 more participant. The overall cost of the Event is $50. However the $34.95 will be paid in our Orgy Sponsor Site the remaining $15.05 will be paid at the events night. Once you become a gold member at our sponsor site, You can have an access to see the other members, You will also receive your membership ID number. You can only enter the room where the party will be held once you have your membership ID number, Your membership ID number will also serve as the receipt of the payment. Membership id is good for 6 months. So you don’t have to pay $34.95 monthly. We held parties two to three times a month, and It’s entirely up to you if you would like to come or not. in the event that you can’t come It’s okay, It won’t affect your membership and you can still attend upcoming parties that we have. If you’re good with it i can walk you through the procedure to sign up. xx

Note: It’s on US dollars because our sponsor site is US based.

Yes, US dollars are intriguing, hence the final notice… but so why are you not just editing the text and replacing dollars for sterling pounds? That would be easier to understand and you would get some extra money with the currency exchange rating. And surely if you can organise 2 to 3 orgies per month in Stirling, you deserve far more money than that.

Price-wise seems very reasonable. An orgy for a tenner? Give me seven! But the medical check-up, I knew that from that forum post, costs also $250, so I’ve asked again:

— Cool, so what clinic is that?
— I can’t tell you what’s the name of our private clinic but don’t worry I will accompany you there because we will have our medical check up together once you’ve become a member and a definite attendee of our party.
— Uhm, why not?
— For the discretion also of our doctors.
— And what discretion is needed for a doctor? He/she is doing this/her job
— If you think you’er smart enough for us that our private doctors can’t have discretion for themselves its up to you. If you have doubt about it and had a second thought on becoming a members its up to you also. I’m not here for some bullshit chit chat man. So if you’re not interested please tell me so we can stop this and we don’t have to waste each other’s time.

It looks like Nathan got upset… I showed some repentance and then he replied to me

Okay I will now show you the steps to finalize your membership. you have to click this link http://tinyurl.com/ncm4ovl so you can be under our group. It will direct you to our sponsor site (GCruise), create and account there. You must upgrade your account there to 1 month gold that’s the $34.95 and it’s good for 6 months. After paying $34.95 you can cancel your registration on our site, so that you won’t be charge monthly. but don’t worry It won’t affect your membership. the remaining $15.05 will be paid at the event’s night. After you upgraded your account they will send you a confirmation email containing your Membership ID number. You have to Verify your account to get your membership id. Your ID will be use to address you on every Party Invitations that we will be sending you once you sign up. Plus your membership ID will serve as your reservation slot on every party and it will serve as your identity on our group. Once you become a gold member on our sponsor site, You can have an access to see the other members of our group. Once you’re done, send me your membership ID and I will forward it to our head moderator so they can verify your ID at the same time we can process your Party Invitation. You can find all the details will be included on the invitation. xx

That referred website, GCruise.com, is well known for being a scam website. Sorry, Nathan, no luck this time.

--

--

Xabier Cid

Trial & error process in the path towards… towards I haven’t a clue. @xabitubbi