My Elevator Pitch

I don’t have one yet

Xander Jake de los Santos
2 min readFeb 3, 2019

--

I haven’t been in the workforce in my life. As I prepare to start my career as a software developer, I’ve been told that I need to know how to introduce myself to a potential employer. The Lambda School Outcomes team call it the ‘elevator pitch’. The first thought that popped out of my head when I heard that is a pitch for a startup. But I guess I need to sell myself first before I can sell my ideas.

The main thing that they talked about is that we need to talk about our background in a positive light. If we have no work experience, then talk about ourselves as hungry individuals. Eager to learn and work for a company passionately. If we do have the experience we should talk about what we learned from it. Leaving out the negative aspects of the experience.

Showing and not telling is the rule. We are not to tell people that we are hard-working, team-player, and curious people. If I want to tell people that I like to learn new concepts, then I should talk about an experience that shows that trait. Self-proclamation is a big no-no. Which makes sense, I wouldn’t trust a people who say they are trustworthy.

I want to write my elevator pitch but I don’t really know what to talk about. I just graduated high school, a couple months ago. I literally have zero relevant experiences.

--

--