Emotion A.I. : Do’s and Don’ts

Xavier Basset
2 min readOct 29, 2021

--

Talk to your parents about your intimacy. Listen to a close friend having troubles. Play your favorite game with your children. Eat a delicious meal cooked with passion. Smell the perfume of a red rose during a fresh early morning…

Photo by Serafima Lazarenko on Unsplash

What do all these experiences have in common?

Emotions.

  • Emotions guide our decisions.
  • Emotions help us learn.
  • Emotions make us survive.

Emotions are part of us. They make us.

ALL, Humans.

We live in 2021, in a world where the Digital Economy is mature. And we live in a world where technologists have already spent a lot of time and efforts to build emotional technology :

Emotion A.I. is a technology to understand people’s emotions. With Artificial Intelligence, more and more efficient products are available on the market.

So how does Emotion A.I. have an impact on my life?

One thing is sure, this is happening and everyone will -or has already- get involved into Emotion A.I. products.

Emotions are about who we are, as Humans, and the Digital Economy is about what we do everyday.

This is a BIG thing.

So, here are my thoughts on the do’s and don’ts with Emotion A.I. Technology.

I think that collectively, we already have a significant experience with similar technologies that have had a huge impact on the world, like the Internet. My concern is to take the lessons from the past to build the next.

As an entrepreneur, I want to have an impact on people’s life.

As a developer, I have a passion to build solutions for extremely hard problems.

As a dad, I want to create a world where I’d love my children to live in.

Emotion A.I.: the Don’ts

  • don’t hook people’s mind using emotions. Hacking people’s brain has proved to be a bad idea. Using the power of emotions to hook users does not build a better world.
  • don’t try to sell more by tweaking people’s emotional reaction. Smart people will find your trick and spread the word. Bad buzz incoming.
  • don’t offer free products to get intimate emotional mapping. People value their privacy, as you do value it for yourself.

That was the easy part. Lessons from the past. Now what?

Emotion A.I.: the Do’s

  • explain what you do with emotions as if you were talking to a kid
  • help people understand more about themself
  • build trust and long term confidence

We all have to focus on building products that produces a positive BALANCED outcome for the user. This balance includes the pros and cons.

--

--

Xavier Basset

Happy Entrepreneur, Developer and Dad. CEO, co-founder at Hoomano. Enjoy #running in the #mountain then appreciate #food & #wine