How did I STOP sucking at online communication?

Xavier Litt
3 min readSep 19, 2022

--

I’ve been an entrepreneur for eight years, and to be honest, I’ve done a poor job so far communicating online about what I’ve learned and accomplished.

We all know that we should communicate more, but there seems always to be something more urgent to do.

So what is the solution? I got an idea when I thought about other aspects of my work.

Following a strict discipline and creating daily habits has helped me tremendously in other areas of my business, and in my personal life as well (I’ll discuss another time my habits/routines/systems).

I’ll use the same principle for my online communication and implement a method to guide me through regular content creation across various social media platforms (Twitter, LinkedIn, TikTok, Instagram, and YouTube) based on a communication structure.

I genuinely believe that it’s essential to network online, share tips & best practices with peers, and create bonds with future clients/partners/investors/stakeholders of all kinds.

And at the end of the day, important tasks matter more than urgent ones. Personal branding and online communication definitely fall into the former category, in my opinion. And the sooner you get started, the quicker you’ll benefit from its compounding effect.

I’ll document my process along the way for multiple reasons:

  • Sharing my process publicly forces me to commit to doing it seriously.
  • Explaining the method helps me better understand how I’m structuring my actions.
  • Exposing my plan will lead to improving it through iterations of comments & suggestions with my followers.
  • Learning more by interacting with my content creator & entrepreneur peers.

After I decided I needed a plan, I discussed it with my friend and digital marketing consultant Mona (she recently launched her agency after some time being a freelance, check her out & encourage her!).

This is the first draft that resulted from our conversation:

  • Each week, I’ll write a long-format text to recap the past week and describe my plan for the week to come.
  • Each week will be focused on 1 specific theme that I want to cover, either because I have value to share, or because I want to learn more about it!
  • Although the main theme will change week to week, it’ll always be broadly about entrepreneurship, productivity & marketing.
  • One of the biggest hurdles for me when creating content was that I needed to find inspiration each day; that’s why I decided to choose a specific angle for each day of the week to detail my week’s plan & actions:

```Monday: Introduction to the week’s topic / Setting goals for the week

```Tuesday: My checklist / Organizing priorities & to-do lists

```Wednesday: Processes / Tools

```Thursday: Successes / Failures

```Friday: How I develop specific skills / sharing knowledge

```Saturday: Recap of the week / lessons learned

```Sunday: The MOST important thing to remember

  • Each long-format content will then be adapted into short content pieces / tweets / videos etc for each platform during the week. I’ll share best practices & tips along the way to have both a good output & take minimal amounts of time.

As you’ve guessed, for this first week’s topic I’ve decided to focus on coming up with an online communication plan.

My goal for this week is to start implementing this plan & document the process along the way.

Stay tuned for more details in the days to come.
I look forward to hearing your own plans & tips to be active online in a productive way while you develop your business!

--

--

Xavier Litt

Chief Growth Officer at Ad360 — Making Ecommerce Growth Super Simple! Talks about #tech, #digital, #ecommerce, #marketing, and #advertising