Javier’s Story

Facing Life: I Will Never Give Up!

Xavy Diaz
3 min readApr 5, 2014

“Blessed is the man who has patience and perseveres”… Daniel 12.12

Similar to most Latin American immigrants, I came to this wonderful country seeking ways to improve my future. I have faced a lot of challenges through my life, such as having an alcoholic father, growing up without my mother or a true family, limited access to education, hunger as well as poverty, and other things that can make life miserable. My childhood and adolescence were not memorable moments in my life, but everything that I have experienced in those times has made me stronger. I never had my father’s support. The few years that I lived with him were very tempestuous. When I was 7 years old, my mother moved to the US. She needed to work to support my older brother and me. For this reason, I had to live with different relatives in my country until I came here. Coming to this country has been a difficult process. I had to deal with rejections by the US Immigration Department, but after 13 years of constantly fighting, I was allowed to come to Massachusetts, where my true family and home are.

In the same way, my educational background has not been the most adequate. I did not attend school as a child because my father did not allow me, likely because of his alcoholism. While I was moving from one home to another, growing into adolescence, I started to attend school consistently. When I moved to this country, I was attending high school in Guatemala, and I was disappointed because I had to abandon it. I left a whole life behind in my native country. I had to start from the very beginning. It has been challenging because I had to adapt myself to a new style of life, a new culture, and a new language. The process of education is really difficult for immigrants because it requires one to learn a new language and sacrifice your time in school instead of getting a job to survive. For this reason I always try to do my best at school because I know that only through education, I can improve my life.

My dream has always been to attend college. Sadly, my family cannot afford this expense. Despite this reality, I will not give up. I know that either way I have to overcome this challenge. Every day in school, I try to learn as much as possible, practicing my speaking and keeping excellent grades. I do not mind to work as hard as I can to earn money and pay for my studies. During this time in Massachusetts, I have flourished in different ways. I have been able to learn a new language, and see that the best pleasure in life is helping others. For this reason, I want to study a career in humanities in order to help all immigrants who come to this country. Additionally, I feel that is my responsibility and duty to improve myself because this way, I can help my family, community, and the country.

Summarizing, my life has not been a fairy tale. I have had to face reality precociously, but like a crucible purifies the gold, and makes this brighter; life has made me wise and strong to overcome challenges. I know that during my future I will find problems, obstacles, and disadvantages, but they shall not stop me. I have learned that hope is the last thing to lose, and my heart is hopeful. I have in my hands the power to make my dream come true. I will improve my life. It is my dream, and I am determined to make it come true. I will never give up!

--

--

Xavy Diaz

Viviendo la vida a mi manera, cambiando el mundo a mi favor!! Cógito ergo sum...