5–5–4 short animation | yutong & the makeup

yutong xxx
2 min readSep 4, 2018

--

I used to do makeup almost everyday. I was not comfortable with my raw appearance and I felt that I have to put on makeup just to fit in (I used to work in fashion industry). I want to illustrate my feelings back then when I woke up earlier than I had to and did makeup.

Watch it first:

Behind the scenes:

At first, I used clay as my medium. A stop-motion animation was my first choice. However, the one-day time limit could only allow me to do a quick version of my vision. So I switched from clay models to drawings.

I used After Effects to animate each objects and the animation tells the whole process of me doing makeup. I recorded google translation as the guide sound.

Once the makeup is done. I edited in a window stating:

me.png could not be found

Then

missing files

In the end everything becomes lost and could not be found.

--

--