W2: “Dear past self…”

(●'◡'●)
3 min readFeb 6, 2022

--

RELAX

Dear past self,

I seem to see you, you are so close to me, but I can't touch you. Are you reading this blog I wrote for you? Nothing special, I just want to share something with you.

Yeah, I'm fine, except for a virus that suddenly appeared and killed 5.71 million people around the world (Outbreak,n.d.), everything was fine🤷‍♀️. Maybe you can reach out to the presidents before 2019 and let them know will have virus catastrophe across the globe.

Just joking. How to contact the presidents? How to let them trust you? How to explain if they ask how you got the message? Tell them you have a future self to help you? Please, don't let yourself be seen as a lunatic by others. How can you ensure that if the virus does come, you won't be considered the initiator? This may also affect our family. Save the world? Hey girl, I'm just a normal university student that still struggling with English.

Emoji taken from WeChat

There is no need to feel guilty, many things are not as good as you think, just do your best. Share more about hygiene issues with people around you or on the Internet, always keep hand sanitizer, wash your hands and drink more water, and don’t eat weird food🙅‍♀️🦇🙅‍♀️. Sound like nothing special, but it’s something that most people can’t do. Even if it’s just getting some people to pay attention to this issue, you’re already great.

I’m not going to tell you too much about me, because I’ve had a good life, proving that you haven’t made yourself too badly. Maybe now I can’t understand most of your thoughts at that time, but it doesn’t affect me love you❣ What? The guy who promised to marry me after high school? Huh?Who’s that?

Emoji taken from WeChat

I know the single-digit scores on the exam paper make you uncomfortable, so you waiting an ordinary person to accept the same ordinary you. But you know what? This is also what you wrote and YOU DID.

Diary written on March 10, 2018
Diary written on June 4, 2018

You have a new wish and you are trying to make it happen. Of course, you have some shortcomings, but it is precisely because I see your shortcomings that so I’m honoured to have made progress now. You don’t have to rely on others to achieve success, you are better than you think. OK, so now, I should say I may not see you frequently, after all, the future me may come back to see the current me, so I have to live well in the present and not let her down.

Take care, stay safe, keep going and YOU ARE THE BEST.

Name: Lim Xin-Yi, Student ID: 2005433

Reference

Andrela-Chxn (2019, September 6). 1 hour of Kpop piano music: S T U D Y & R e l a X: September 2019 [Video]. YouTube. Retrieved February 5, 2022, from https://youtu.be/TnY0C5YbXmc

Outbreak .MY. (n.d.). World stats | Covid-19 | world outbreak monitor | live updates. Retrieved February 3, 2022, from https://www.outbreak.my/world

--

--