Importing transparent Gif into Adobe After Effects

Xinyue Yang
2 min readMay 10, 2018

--

- Problems I had

This is the Gif that I try to import into AE. A ‘flying’ butterfly.

A Gif I made with photoshop
The background is set to be transparent

When I try to import Gif with transparent background into After Effects, it didn’t work out, the background colour turned into white automatically.

After importing this Gif into After Effects

- Solution I found

1. In Photoshop, render a video instead of a Gif

Remember to set format to ‘Quicktime’ and alpha channel to ‘straight unmatted’.

2. Import the video into After Effects

Now it has a transparent background!

3. Looping this video

The duration of my video is only 0.2 seconds, however, the duration of my composition is 30 seconds, how can I make it appear in the canvas again and again? In this case you should loop it!

Directly after importing it into AE, right click the video and choose ‘Interpret Footage’, ‘Main’

Change loop ‘1’ time to ‘150’ times or more (30/0.2 = 150)

Last step, drag the video into the comp, now you find it loops a full 30 seconds duration! And it has a transparent background as well!

--

--

Xinyue Yang

Interaction and Product Designer based in Berlin. See my portfolio on xinyue.de