HERE’S WHY YOU SHOULDN’T SING “DORI ME” AGAIN

ADESIDA OLUWASEUN (XPERALBEE)
3 min readJun 18, 2021

--

Dori Me
Interimo Adapare
Dori Me
Ameno Ameno
Latire
Latiremo
Dori Me

Music has made us believe that you don’t necessarily have to know the lyrics to a song before you vibe to it (sings Friday Feeling by Fireboy*). Take for instance, the buzz on the internet when "Despacito" by Luis Fonsi was first released. Little did everyone know it was a sex song. Lol. Even kids sang it! 😳😳

Slowly
Despacito

I want to breathe your neck slowly
Quiero respirar tu cuello despacito

Let me tell you things in my ear
Deja que te diga cosas al oído

So that you remember if you are not with me
Para que te acuerdes si no estás conmigo

Slowly
Despacito

I want to undress you with kisses slowly
Quiero desnudarte a besos despacito

Sign the walls of your labyrinth
Firmar las paredes de tu laberinto

And make your body a whole manuscript (go up, go up, go up)
Y hacer de tu cuerpo todo un manuscrito (sube, sube, sube)

Recently becoming one of the electric club intro bangers, the true meaning of "Dori Me " is yet unknown by many.
People, however, sing it for the fun of it - not excluding little kids, as well. Personally, I’ve caught myself on several occasions vibing to the song.

So, I took some time to do a little research of my own - the Origin of "Dori Me" and its meaning.

Dorime Ameno is an E.R.A’s song titled "Ameno," and was first released in 1996, and then again in 2017.

The lyrics are a subtle mix of Latin, Italian, Spanish, and Portuguese - hence, it is Pseudo-Latin.

The Words and Their Meanings

Dori Me: Italian Word for "You Adore Me" or Romanian Word for "You Desire Me"

Interimo: Latin Word for "I Destroy, I Damage, I Do Away With"

Adapare: Latin Word for "I Connect To"

Ameno: Italian Word for "Pleasurable" or "Pleasant"

Latiremo: Latin Word for "We Shall Fight Together"

If you combine these words in the usual way you sing the song, it absolutely makes no sense.

Doesn’t that sound a bit scary? Having no idea of what you’re singing but it all makes sense because it’s melodious and pleasant to hear?

Is that bad? Yes
Will I stop singing it? No

It’s your decision whether it’s good for you or not. If you decide to sing it, just don’t look ugly doing that. Lol.

Source: Quora - https://www.quora.com/In-what-language-is-Ameno-by-the-group-ERA-I-have-stumbled-upon-answers-like-old-French-or-even-Latin-but-I-am-not-quite-sure

--

--