CS373 Fall 2021: Blog #8

Cliff Xu
2 min readOct 17, 2021

--

What did you do this past week?

I met up with my group and discussed how we were going to split the work for Project 3 and started working on my part afterward. I am responsible, with another member of my group, for the backend including using PostgreSQL as the database and implementing the restful API. I also worked on a paper for another class that is due early next week.

What’s in your way?

Not much is currently in my way. I heard that this step of the project is tough so that might be a tough challenge. I also need to finish my paper before the due date, and writing papers has always been a tough job for me.

What will you do next week?

I will finish my paper soon and begin working more on Phase 2 of the project. We also didn’t do too well on Phase 1 so we will be going back and fixing out mistakes before the extension deadline. Hopefully, there won’t be any more hiccups down the line.

If you read it, what did you think of the Paper #8: Liskov Substitution Principle?

Paper #8 was an interesting read. It offered some good insight as to why certain hierarchies might not work. It was a good extension of last week’s reading that explained the Open-Closed principle and explained how and why we want code that doesn’t need to be changed and subclasses that shouldn’t affect the base class’s effectiveness.

What was your experience of comprehensions, generators, and yield? (this question will vary, week to week)

This week was kind of confusing for me. There was a lot of material covered and I probably need to go back and rewatch the lectures to get a better understanding of the topics.

What made you happy this week?

Some of the things I bought online came in recently, so that made me happy. I also enjoyed talking to friends and hanging out with them over the week. I am kind of nervous but also excited to get more into Phase 2 of the project.

What’s your pick-of-the-week or tip-of-the-week?

Pay very close attention to the grading specifications when they are given out and before you submit your project. Do not just skim over it, because that was what cause my team to lose a significant amount of points.

--

--