Solving 403 Forbidden on Port 443 (HTTPS) for Apache 2.4

Atikhun Orisoon
1 min readDec 6, 2015

--

This is my very, very first post on Medium.

I must declare here that my English is terrible! So I welcome every grammar nazi to comment my language. I accept any advice for my language. I just want to post a note here lol.

One day I heard that Let’s Encrypt let us have “trusted” SSL certificate for free! Finally my dream comes true. So I try this and I found that the installation process is very easy. I just follow the instructions on the screen then I’ve got the “trusted” SSL certificate! (You can read more about Let’s Encrypt installation here.)

But that’s not the point!

Okay, when I go to my site with HTTPS after I’ve done Let’s Encrypt installation. The SSL certificate is working as well. My browser (Chrome) doesn’t show any warning. The address bar shows “green https” indicated that this is “trusted” SSL certificate.

But my site return 403 Forbidden instead of my actual site!

I find the solution overnight. Then I found that this problem is related to my .htaccess file in the root public directory. This post tells me to add some code to my .htaccess file. So I decided to put this into my .htaccess:

Satisfy Any

Then I restart Apache.

service apache2 restart

Finally, my site returns the actual site in HTTPS with magic!

And that’s all I want to note here. Bye.

--

--