Hearing Your Voices

Just a few words about my spirit and well being.

Chelsea Manning
2 min readAug 8, 2016
The Freedom of the Press Foundation’s “Write Chelsea Manning” table at the July 2016 HopeX. Photo by Yan Zhu. CC-BY-SA

I thought it might be a good idea to say a few words about how I am doing.

I have been feeling a little better. Certainly better than the week before last, when I was first served with these charges. Your outpouring of support has been incredible. You have made a real difference in my feelings about myself and my situation.

One thing I’ve had to learn to remember, is that there are thousands of people all over the world thinking about me every day. Knowing that does help me get through my day. It helps me to get up in the morning, and it helps me have the strength go through this routine that has become my life.

You have been expressing concern for me on social media. I am hearing you. You make a difference. You make me feel a little better, as I learn how to grow and adapt.

I have been reading the letters and cards you have been sending, reading math research papers, and resting. You have sent me many different types of letters. All of your letters have been positive. You have written me letters of support. You have also asked me specific questions about myself. And also about how I feel about events going on “out there” in the world.

For now, I remain hopeful. But, I also remain realistic.

I am astonished at the breadth and heart of your voices with your petitions to drop the charges by the prison for a suicide attempt. My court martial appeal is still ongoing. I am still seeking appropriate psychological, psychiatric, and medical care for my gender transition.

Today, I am inspired and motivated to keep writing, educating myself, and speaking out on matters that we know are important.

Only your incredible support could have made this happen.

--

--

Chelsea Manning

Grand Jury Resister. Network Security Expert. Fmr. Intel Analyst. Trans Woman. #WeGotThis