Low skills causes procrastination

Chester XYZ
2 min readAug 7, 2014

I was recently thinking why do I procrastinate. Yes, I do procrastinate; as my previous boss described me, I’m honest. I think honesty helps you focus on a meaningful solution to the problem instead of masking it and being defensive. And specifically to work, I think the normal state of a man is to want to work and him not working is mostly because there are obstacles blocking him. Blocking obstacles in abstract stuff aren’t so obvious as in the real world.

With that said I began to think about the theory of flow. One part of it correlates skill level and challenge to an emotional state.

You will observe(see diagram) that if you have a high skill level the emotional states are pretty much great, but take a look at what happens when your skill level is low. These are states that are apt for procrastinating.

Honestly, my skill level in css and javascript, I think is what is causing the procrastination. I’m pretty lacking in them. I don’t procrastinate when I have pure php code to write. With that said, all I have to do is go learn them properly, no biggie.

What I was trying to do is build a sky scraper without properly knowing how to lay a block. Which would essential lead to thoughts on whether I’m doing this right. I will let you know how this new strategy of building skills improves my procrastination.

--

--