Wandering Wonder

Aamir Bux
7 min readApr 17, 2017

--

I like to wander around exploring new things, seeing new places meeting new people. It helps keep my mind fresh and I usually end up in strange situations. I’ve had many adventures wandering around and I’ve made new, amazing friends from almost every continent on this small blue planet of ours.

I try to think about the time I first started to wander but my mind is blank. Honestly I’ve been wondering around ever since I was a little white baby.

Yes that is actually me. I don’t know, maybe my mum left me out in the sun for too long?

The funny thing is, while my random wandering and exploring will occasionally lead to dead ends, sometimes I end up doing things I’d never dreamed of. Once I was wandering around in my old university and I accidentally joined the Japanese society (long story tell you another time, involves a geisha and a lonely squirrel). I saw the Japanese society in a pub and I overheard them talking about going to karaoke. I was bored so I randomly approached the head honcho and asked if I could tag along. He said yes!

I made friends that day. Soon I would attend their annual random dress up party. I went as Dr House.

I’m the one between the Japanese girl and the REALLY white guy
First time learning to use chop sticks- You can see the pride in their eyes

I also made Chinese friends at the society.

My first Chinese dinner

A year later, a friend at the Japanese society told me about a summer school in a South Korean university, Chonbuk. It would last 2 and a half weeks and I’d be learning Korean for 2 hours everyday.

Now I wasn’t familiar with Korean culture, fun fact, I knew more about North Korea than I did South Korea. Still I had yet to wander around South Korea, and I could get a discount for the summer school because of the university I was attending. So I said Yes.

I’m the brown guy next to the other brown guy behind the old Korean guy

Korea was great. I made friends from almost every continent on Earth.

Once I was wandering around the campus of the Korean university I was at when I met my friend Cesar. He told me about how a bunch of guys were going to get together and play football (Soccer). He invited me along. Now I was an asthmatic who wasn’t particularly athletic (at the time) or very good at football, so of course I said yes.

As you can see wandering around has led to me having experiences I never would have dreamed I have. I mean I never dreamed I’d end up in South Korea playing football with a bunch of Americans and Europeans while girls cheered us on. All this and many more adventures happened because I randomly wandered around and asked if I could get involved. I would always wander around by myself, like the Doctor, because other friends weren't as curious as me.

When I got accepted into the University of Birmingham to do my Computer Science masters, I promised myself I wouldn’t change. I would keep wondering and see where life would take me.

I remember wandering around the annual Societies fair and just taking leaflets from every society that offered them. I have a collection leaflets with everything from the Chinese society to the psychedelics society (don’t ‘officially’ do drugs just discuss why we should be allowed to do them). After I got my leaflets, I got to wandering. I went to the Chinese society and got invited to a Halloween part they were hosting.

Me and my teacher

I went to the comedy society and performed stand up:

“Lets take a silly photo”

I’d later continue to perform stand up at different societies. If you were hosting an open mic I would be there. I would randomly wander in, tell some jokes and just leave without saying a word to anyone. I performed stand up at a Malaysian talent show and I did it at the Disney Society’s open mic night. I was like ghost, just showing up out of the blue, doing something cool and disappearing before anyone could talk to me. I even entered Chortle’s stand up competition.

During the Christmas period, I was struggling with a coding problem one night and I decided to focus on something else. I found a society on the Student guild website called the “Toastmasters”. It sounded like a cult but I thought I’d give it a chance. It was a public speaking society so it couldn't be too bad. As fate would have it their next meeting was due to start in 1 hour, so I just randomly wondered in to their meeting. Going to Toastmasters would later turn out to be one best decisions I have made. Toastmasters deserves it’s own story so I won’t go into too many details. I would later attend every meeting and would go on to win for best speech in two of their weekly competitions.

Seamus on the left is annoyingly brilliant. I can’t think of a bad word to say about him.
Toastmasters family.

My performance in the annual internal competition would lead to me along with 4 other Toastmasters to represent the University of Birmingham at Cardiff university’s public speaking competition.

Representing Old Joe
My speech on being polarising

One of the final things I did was on March 31st 2017. It was the president of the Chinese society’s birthday and he was going to host a mini concert where he and some volunteers would perform for an audience before everyone went to Karaoke. I should mention the president of the Chinese society is this popular guy with an amazing singing voice. Guy looks like he was part of a boy band. I was one of two non Chinese people invited to the event so I was stood out like an…Indian guy at a Chinese party. Something prompted me to ask the president if I could join him on stage and sing a Chinese song at the event. I didn’t know any Chinese songs and I was sure to embarrass myself, but I wanted to challenge myself. Surprisingly the president agreed so I would end up singing “Tong Hua” (Fairy tale) in front of 60 Chinese students. I got told I did a pretty good job although I think people were more impressed an Indian guy was speaking Chinese.

Reading the lyrics on my phone while the president played the guitar

Looking back now I can’t help but feel happy at all the memories I made. Dear reader you might be looking at the photos and thinking “Wow this guy must have a lot of balls, he has no fear” but that isn’t true at all. Fact is I was always nervous. I remember feeling nervous asking the president if I could perform at his birthday event. Ironically I used to suffer from anxiety and panic attacks, even today I can feel the ghost of those diseases influencing my own psyche. But despite the nerves and the fear, I would never let it stop me. I would force myself to get up and perform or approach someone. I consistently got out of my comfort zone because I wanted to wonder. I wanted to see what would happen. And this practice has allowed me to have some great experiences and meet some amazing people who have made me a better person. People who I would never have met if I hadn’t wandered around.

So I encourage you dear reader, get out of you comfort zone and wander. See things and talk to people.

Take it from me, you never know where you’ll end up.

--

--

Aamir Bux

British Dev Ops engineer by day/stand up comic at night. Want to hear a joke?