The ClassPass Binge Challenge

YaCryptid
2 min readApr 29, 2016

--

As many of you already know, all hell broke loose on Wednesday when ClassPass announced that they were hiking up the prices in NYC from $125 to $190 for unlimited classes by June.

“Membership offerings and rates in the New York City metro area are changing. Your current plan and rate is valid through your May cycle. If you’d like to continue at your current rate and transition to the Core membership (10 classes for $125/mo.), there’s nothing you need to do. We’ll auto-enroll you beginning with your June cycle.

To continue with your Unlimited membership at the new rate of $190/mo., select this option below by Monday, May 30 to begin with your June cycle. You can still adjust your membership or cancel at any time.”

Collective reaction post fare hike announcement

Don’t get me wrong, I understand that it is a (slightly?) greedy for even complaining about the hike in price because even if I stick with the 10 classes for $125/mo, I still only pay $12.5 for each class.

HOWEVER. I typically take 15–20 classes a month which meant i was paying $6.25 -$8.33 per class. Thats pretty much a nifty savings of one bottle of kombucha.

So while I understand that ClassPass needs its Equinox level $$$ membership to figure out a sustainable business model, this is probably my last opportunity to go to rose gold quality fitness studios for such an amazing price.

Thats why I wanted to introduce the….

CLASSPASS BINGE CHALLENGE

CHALLENGE: Take as many classes as I/you possibly can in the month of May before we’re switched over to the new June pricing strategy.

GOAL: FOURTY CLASSES

yep.

RULES:

  1. Must go to EVERY single class
  2. Must post reservation before every single class

As a fun (not really) bonus, I’ll also review the classes here after I take them because why not.

Wish me luck (and join in?)! Follow me at @CPBchallenge

--

--