Finally took the first step to break out the downward spiral

Mohit yadav
3 min readAug 16, 2023

--

As always, I was scrolling Instagram (the addiction). Lately, I am trying to quit it, so I delete it in the morning, and then I am like, just for some time, I check it, and I download it and check out what’s going on; yes, I am addicted to it. And over one week, this loop is in continuity; I delete it in the morning, download it after a couple of hours, scroll for some time, and then delete it.

But over the last week, I have been watching lesser reels, even not seeing the DMs (almost all of them are filled reels shared by my friends, sorry, dosto is trying to avoid it, not ignoring it).

This all was the reference to why I wrote this, though I thought of starting writing again for almost 2 months and have procrastinated since then (long story will tell some other day). I downloaded Insta and started scrolling through it.

I saw a story of my friend Nilesh (I really like how he writes, and he writes in Hindi, which is more fascinating to me, I also told him I would start writing). His Insta story was his pic from back standing in a library with the caption ‘surrounded by stories’ and a really great song from the Tamasha movie (Chali Kahani), and then I wished to listen to the song and played it on full volume (currently listening to it on loop, I guess it repeated 4th time right now) and also thought I should not procrastinate more and pick myself and write something, and now here I am.

The movie is very close to my heart. I watched it a couple of weeks ago, and it was so good; the screenplay and the concept were epic; I really liked it. It was about a boy who loves listening and telling stories and is lost in the monotonous world, making everyone robots. In the end, when the loop breaks, Ved (protagonist, portrayed by Ranbir Kapoor, my favorite actor) starts doing what he loves, narrating stories. There was a huge smile on me when the movie ended; I was so happy; if you haven’t watched it, you should watch it.

The movie was about stories, and my pov is we all are writing our stories. There are so many people around us; there are so many stories around us. And it depends on how we make our story worth standing out in the crowd.

I daily travel in the metro, and there are so many faces I see every day; most (90%) of the faces I see are not so positive (not discriminating, I mean they feel stressed or depressed), and when the crowd gets out from the metro and starts the race to reach the metro exit gate then to reach office and then race back to get the metro to go back home. I daily think that this is something I definitely want to eliminate from my life, currently chasing my own thoughts and ideas, what I want to do, and how and make my story end the way I want.

I would have added so many more things to this, but I resisted (I don’t have the exact excuse why). One of them is that I am writing after a really long time; I cannot gather up all my thoughts and decide what I should write and how much; I am also a bit conscious of how this would go and in what rhythm I should move further. While thinking and planning to start writing, I made it clear to myself that I would write my random thoughts. I have so many things to say that I do not express; this is an attempt to write my thoughts, my perspective, my POV to see how I see the world.

If you read it till the end, thank you so much, and please do give your feedback; I know it contains so many errors (grammatical, sentence formation, and many others), and you might have some ideas or suggestions for me. I would love to hear them, even if there is some criticism.

Thanks.

--

--