3 Life-Changing Books Every Person Needs to read

Yahya Mlaouhi
3 min readSep 12, 2022

--

aims towards a life of meaning, fulfillment, creativity, and much more.

Photo by 🇸🇮 Janko Ferlič on Unsplash

Unlike other people I was not a big fan of books, I was telling myself you can find everything in other formats like videos and audio,.. without focusing all your energy on reading and imagining things and I was doing good until I was obligated to read some engineering books because I did not find the information I need in the form of a video just words and after months of struggling and reading books I was shocked, I’m not only was learning but also my mind begins to be active all the time, I was sharper I improve my communication skills and from that moment I fall in love with reading

That said if you’re wondering what books to read and you are a starter I will give you some books that will actually be worth your time and will help elevate you

1. The Will Power Instinct by Kelly McGonigal

This is probably one of the most practical self-help books I’ve ever read, The author keeps giving us insights and information in every chapter on our lack of self-discipline, how we can get more of it, and the science behind it giving real examples and experiments done by scientists and psychologists

you will not only enjoy reading this book because every chapter has exercises and experiments made for you to apply.

this book will help you not only understand how to be disciplined it will increase your self-awareness

One of my favorite chapters in this book is License to Sin: Why Being Good permits Us to Be Bad, the author discusses in this chapter “moral licensing” and how we can use our good behavior (not eating chocolate cake) to justify being bad (not study or not working out)

2. Limitless by Jim Kwik

After understanding yourself and increasing your self-awareness it’s time for advice to improve your technical and soft skills using this book

This is my first self-help book, and I still read it for multiple reasons. This is one of the best opening-eye books on improving yourself because it gives many skills that I never heard of like how to learn, how to remember things, how to increase your focus…

3. Show Your Work! by Austin Kleon

Finally like the title of this book said it’s time to shine bright like a diamond and show your work.

why did I choose this book, let me tell you, I read a lot of self-help books and it helps me a lot but I was struggling to share my work and success with others which made me a little bit unhappy and tired and disrupt my improvement and I don’t want that to happen to you that’s why I chose this book.

if you are an artist, writer, software engineer like me, or anyone who does something meaningful in life this book is for you. You will learn how to overcome obstacles in showing your work to others, understand how you should and shouldn’t share your work, and the methods for building and maintaining an audience

Final Thoughts

remember It’s about quality, not quantity. A long reading list will not be helpful if you don’t invest time and effort in it, as Jordan Peterson said have a humble beginning and I hope the list of these books will help you improve your life.

--

--