Single Slide Lesson Script — Maths: Ratio

Joakim Kristiansen
3 min readFeb 15, 2023

In my new book due to be released in March, “The Happy Effective Teacher” by Malcolm Finney. I talk about how it’s time to ditch the crowded PowerPoint presentations and use a script. To put my money where my mouth is, I’m going to create a series of Maths scripts that can be done with only one slide.

This one is an introduction to ratios. It is based on conceptual understanding before teaching a mathematical method. The students may already be familiar with ratio notation, or you could use this to introduce them to it. Feel free to print it out and use it verbatim.

The Slide

Script

A greengrocer is selling boxes of fruit. Each box contains four oranges and seven apples.

Asking students randomly or on their mini-whiteboards. You can vary the numbers for each type of question.

How much fruit is in total?

How many more apples are there than oranges?

What fraction of the fruit are oranges?

How would I write the ratio of apples to oranges using ratio notation?

If I had four boxes, how many apples would I have?

If I have 88 fruits, how many boxes must I have bought?

I have 42 apples. How many boxes have I bought?

I have 28 oranges. How many apples do I have?

I have 15 more apples than oranges. How many boxes did I buy?

I have 21 more apples than oranges. How many oranges do I have?

Assuming that the apples and oranges are the same prices, if the box costs £4.40, how much does one piece of fruit cost?

If I added two apples and two oranges, would they stay in the same ratio?

If I bought two boxes, would they stay in the same ratio?

Task

Once the task is completed, show the multiplicative relationship between the columns vertically and horizontally.

This will set them up for when you bar model common ratio problems. You can model these examples or develop more of your own (3 is the magic number when teaching new content). Model on the whiteboard and get students to copy the model example before trying their own.

Example 1 and 2

Example 3

Lots of variations in the ratio questions, but you get the idea with these three.

Enjoy.

I’m giving away FREE PDF copies of my new book “The Happy Effective Teacher”. Drop me a message on here or email at info@yakhat.com

Malcolm Finney

--

--