The author (me, hi ❤) after a belly dance performance

Looking Back, This is My Favorite Feature

Reflections at 25

Yasmeen Alaywan
6 min readNov 28, 2023

--

We can often list 10 things we dislike about ourselves quickly and effortlessly.

But when was the last time you took the time to sit down and list the top 10 things you absolutely love about yourself?

If you want an amazing mental health reset, i’d suggest doing that activity.

After doing that very activity, I learned a few important lessons.

Among them, is the realization that oftentimes our least favorite thing about ourselves might actually be someone else’s favorite thing about us.

For example, on my list of the top 10 things I like about myself, I listed my voice.

Yes, my voice.

And when I say voice, I mean more than just the sound of my voice.

I remember despising my voice as a child.

I thought I sounded gross, I didn’t like my laugh or the way I pronounced things, and I was often quiet rather than outspoken.

I had an unhealthy relationship with my voice and often didn’t express myself, or would express myself in one huge outburst that I couldn’t control.

I often got sore throats and coughs that lasted for months, too.

--

--

Yasmeen Alaywan

Lebanese, Brazilian, American ❤ Entrepreneur, surfer & ocean lover ❤