They Call Me Peter Pan

Yalla Papi
15 min readDec 25, 2016

--

So down to move to Never Never Land.

šŸ”„ Go to my blog for the latest and greatest articles: https://www.stuartoden.com

Why canā€™t I figure out what I want to do with myself for the next few years?

Iā€™m so fucking sick of thinking about this. It feels like everyone else has their shit figured out but me.

Still, letā€™s pretend I wasnā€™t comparing myself to other people. It would still be hard for me to make a decision.

We already know the options, but just for fun letā€™s go over them again.

The first one: work in Oz for six months and then go back to school in Tel Aviv.

This is more of a known quantity. Iā€™ve lived in Israel before. Iā€™ve worked in Australia. I pretty much know what Iā€™m getting into.

It would give me a chance to go back to Australia. I loved my time there and would often say that the year I spent there was the best one of my life.

Iā€™d also be pretty much guaranteed to make 4ā€“6 thousand dollars a month. I could use that money to make an online store, blah blah blah.

After six months or so (roughly June or July) I would go back to Israel. Iā€™d get student loans and start studying again in October as a freshman. 3 years later Iā€™d have a degree.

Over these 3 years, Iā€™d be able to spend plenty of time at the beach. Israeli summers are very fun, especially in Tel Aviv.

When I used to live there, every free minute I had was spent at the beach. I had a great tan, a bike to get around, and was in the best shape of my life.

I also had regular sex. And this was before Tinder. Just imagine what it would be like now.

True, I donā€™t keep in touch with many people I knew from before, I do still have some friends there. A lot of people I knew from agalot are from Israel and live there now. Finding people to chill with shouldnā€™t be that hard.

For the most part, I know what Iā€™m getting into if I choose that path.

Overall itā€™s good. Sure, there are negatives like not being able to make any money, but Iā€™m not making any money anyway. And Iā€™d always have the job in Australia to fall back on if I needed some quick cash.

Itā€™s the safer option. Itā€™s the option I know would beā€¦ satisfying?

Good food, attractive women, free society. Sex with slutty Israeli and foreign girls. Sounds pretty fucking good now that I think about it.

The other option is to stay here in Los Angeles.

Iā€™d have my nice one bedroom apartment in Brentwood.

Iā€™d have my membership at Equinox. All of my gym friends would still be there.

Iā€™d also have my 10:15 AM yoga classes. Iā€™d have my yoga friends and amazing yoga instructors.

Iā€™d have all the things that still make me happy here.

But then why is leaving the ā€œsaferā€ option? Why is that the known quantity and not my present existence?

Well, the big roll of the dice here is staying to work in real estate.

Corey, a friend of mine from the gym, told me a while back that heā€™d get me a job working at his firm if I got my real estate license.

In order to do that, you have to take the equivalent of 3 college level classes. It can be done online, which is what I did.

All I have to do now is apply to take the test.

To do so, you have to send your application and payment via snail mail. A month or so later, they verify your shit and let you pick when you want to take the test.

Once I pass the test, I can start working in real estate. This scares me.

It scares me because itā€™s not a quick and easy job. Selling real estate is not something you do for 3ā€“6 months and then stop once youā€™ve made some money.

I mean, I can do whatever I want obviously. But getting into the real estate game is a long term thing. People donā€™t buy and sell houses every day, or even every year. Someone buys a house once every few years, if that.

The name of the game is to make connections, get people to like you and then when they want to buy or sell a house, they hit you up.

Then they refer their friends and it just snowballs from there.

My friend Corey pocketed a million dollars last year.

A million dollars.

A million fucking dollars.

Heā€™s not the type of guy to flaunt it either. Understandably, he doesnā€™t want everyone knowing how much money he makes, although Iā€™d assume that many of the people who go to that gym and work in real estate are pulling down way more than that.

Still.

So letā€™s assume I pass the test. Letā€™s say it happens in mid-February.

Coincidentally, this was the deadline I gave myself to leave for Australia. Granted, this was back when I was driving for Uber every day and was super stressed out. I wanted an escape.

But since I got into that accident, I havenā€™t driven in about two weeks, so Iā€™ve chilled out considerably. I start again tomorrow, so weā€™ll see how long that lasts.

Anyway, letā€™s say I start in February. I can sit here and speculate on how long it will take me to sell my first house, but I really have no way of knowing.

Corey said that when you get hired, youā€™re paid $25 an hour to work part time. Something like 15ā€“20 hours a week. Letā€™s round down and say that itā€™s an extra $400 a week.

With a bit of extra Uber driving on the side, Iā€™d be making about as much as I am now; enough to pay my rent, a bit of food and my nice gym membership.

Iā€™d probably also still be able to go to the majority of my yoga classes as well.

Those are all good things.

A few things are stopping me from fully committing to this idea.

Like I said before, going into real estate is a long term thing.

Letā€™s imagine the best case scenario and things go really well. That means Iā€™ll be here in LA for the foreseeable future.

That also probably means that Iā€™ll never go work in Australia again. I probably wonā€™t go back to school in Tel Aviv. All those positives I listed before in my first option, well, I just wonā€™t have those.

I will have my yoga classes here, though. I love my yoga classes.

Every time Iā€™m feeling upset about my life and go to yoga, halfway through I always think to myself, ā€œHow could I possibly think about giving this up?ā€

A few weeks ago when I was driving for Uber and not seriously considering the real estate thing, I was even prepared to just keep driving indefinitely JUST SO I could keep going to yoga. Thatā€™s how much I love it.

That said, since I took a mini break from driving, yoga has been less appealing. I still love it, but less so.

Without the negativity from driving, yoga has less work to do in making me feel better.

Another strange thought I have is that EVEN IF I make a ton of money selling real estate, thereā€™s no guarantee that Iā€™ll live a satisfying life.

Now, I realize that itā€™s complete speculation because I have no reference point. In other words, Iā€™ve never sold real estate before. Iā€™ve never made lots of money before. I donā€™t know how much I will or wonā€™t like it.

In fact, Iā€™ve never actually had a job in LA that was even somewhat respectable. All the jobs Iā€™ve had have been shitty sales jobs that I found on Craigslist. Borderline scams.

All of them except the PPC gig I did with a friend of mine. That was legit. But working for him was like being a slave.

Still, I did make bank. He even left the door open for me when I left, offering me a job a few months ago where Iā€™d be making ~$6k a month.

I took it.

It was too boring though. I quit after 3 days.

Anyway, the real estate is different. You need a license for that job, which immediately raises the quality of the people who do it. Those CL ā€œjobsā€ didnā€™t require any qualifications other than being able to fog a mirror.

Also, Iā€™d be around people who were making serious $$$.

From what Coreyā€™s told me, heā€™s a sort of one man show because heā€™s been doing it for so long.

For someone just starting out like me though, Iā€™d be part of a team. That means theyā€™d take part of my commission if I actually managed to sell a house, but theyā€™d also help considerably with the process.

Iā€™m cool with that. Even though Iā€™ve taken all three courses I still have no idea how the fuck real estate even works. Probably not a good thing.

Thereā€™s something else that trips me out too.

Alright, so letā€™s say that I choose option 1. I go to Oz, work, then go to Tel Aviv and study.

Three to four years pass. I have my shiny but completely useless psychology degree and $50k in debt. Whatā€™s my next step?

Well, one option is to continue on and get an MBA. Letā€™s come back to that in a second.

The second option, the one that trips me out, is that Iā€™d probably just fucking END UP COMING BACK TO LA TO SELL REAL ESTATE ANYWAY.

Iā€™d be in the exact same place I started, except with a lot more debt, a degree and (presumably) some fond memories and notches on my belt.

I can even picture myself in the mall in Australia during a particularly slow day. There I am, wondering what the fuck Iā€™m doing there selling straighteners for $200 when I could be selling houses for $2 million.

Isnā€™t that fucking weird?

I was at the doctor the other day. I was feeling particularly shitty, so I decided to ask him for some life advice.

Iā€™ll spare you the details of the conversation, but one thing that stuck with me was that he said:

ā€œYouā€™re 33 years old. You have to sink your teeth into something eventually.ā€

Is it possible that Iā€™m just not ready yet?

I see all these young Persian kids at the gym. Theyā€™re in college, either at USC or UCLA. Two great schools.

Or theyā€™re selling real estate. In their early 20s. Putting in work to make the big bucks. I feel like THEYā€™RE ready. They donā€™t hem and haw about what to do with their lives. They just want to stay in LA, sell real estate and make bank.

Then again, why the fuck should I care what other people do? Comparing yourself to others is a surefire way to make yourself feel like shit.

I mean fuck, why couldnā€™t I compare myself to them on some other standard? Why does it always have to be about money? Why canā€™t it be about something where Iā€™M better than THEM? Why does it always have to be something negative?

Anyway, what the fuck was I talking aboutā€¦

Oh right, not being ready. Yeah, I just donā€™t know.

I suppose there is a third option as well.

The third option is to prepare for both. I would take the test in February and commit to doing real estate for letā€™s say, 6 months.

If I donā€™t like it after that amount of time, I can go with plan A. At the very least, I will have experienced something new. Iā€™d know if I would like it or not.

Who knows? Maybe Iā€™d like it. Maybe it would be easy to sell houses and make a shit ton of money. Maybe it would be the answer to these questions Iā€™ve been asking myself.

Maybe Iā€™d make lots of friends through work. Maybe having all that money would make me feel better about myself. Maybe Iā€™d finally be sure that Iā€™m in the right place.

Maybe maybe maybe.

The thing I donā€™t like about the third option is that itā€™s a sort of half-commitment. Iā€™m giving myself an escape route. And if I know myself, itā€™s that I love using escape routes.

I know deep down that if I commit to the real estate thing, that eventually Iā€™d make it work. I donā€™t know how I know that, but I just do.

I mean how hard could it fucking be? How many complete retards are out there make a living from real estate?

Building my client base shouldnā€™t be too hard either. Just go to a bunch of Jewish events, meet some rich people and boom ā€” instant success!

Obviously joking there, but you get the idea. So many Jews in LA. Jews have money. People with money buy houses.

Iā€™m a likable guy. Itā€™s just a matter of time.

Meanwhile, I would have my Wellbutrin and yoga classes to keep me mentally stable.

So I donā€™t have a social life. Friends are overrated anyway. Hope of a better future will be my new friend. Money will be my best buddy.

Ha. If only.

Another strange thought: one of the reasons I feel compelled to succeed in real estate is that I want people to see me transform from a loser into a baller.

Like I mentioned before, I spend a lot of time at the gym. Every time I go there, I wear one of 3 pairs of shorts, a random T-shirt and the same white Abercrombie sweatshirt.

People who know me there know I am a bit of a scoundrel. Thatā€™s not the right wordā€¦ Scamp? Whatever. They know my professional life is shit and that Iā€™m broke.

After I make money, I want to go out and buy 10 new gym outfits. I want to wear them at the gym so people will notice that Iā€™ve changed. I want them to ask me about it, and I want to revel in that moment where I get to tell them that Iā€™m not a broke loser anymore.

With a trace of pomp I want to say to them, ā€œI do real estate now.ā€

Then Iā€™ll just leave it at that and let their imagination work overtime.

Theyā€™ll think, ā€œWow, Stuart has changed so much. Now that heā€™s a successful real estate guy, heā€™s the total package. Nice, smart, attractive AND heā€™s making money. Heā€™s so kewl.ā€

Isnā€™t that weird?

Letā€™s take it even further.

With a bit of concentration Iā€™m sure I could think of quite a few other people whose faces Iā€™d like to rub my success in. Not in a necessarily malicious way, although not in a completely friendly way either.

Not like I want to genuinely share with them that my life is great because they mean so much to me and I want them to celebrate with me.

More like, ā€œHey remember when you brushed me off because you thought Iā€™d never amount to anything? Well guess what? Now I make more money than you. HAHAHA.ā€

I suppose there is a bit of malice there. These arenā€™t even people that I dislike, per se. I even like some of them.

Anyway.. I guess thatā€™s not the purest motivation to do anything. After all, that moment of realization that Iā€™m the shit will only last a brief second.

Eventually everyone who thought I was a loser will realize that Iā€™ve made money. Then where will I be? What will my motivation to continue working there be after that?

Thatā€™s where Iā€™m drawing a blank.

Granted, Iā€™ve never experienced that so itā€™s entirely speculation.

Hmm. I guess drawing a blank would be the opposite of speculation, since youā€™re not actually thinking of anything.

Whatever. The point is that there are a lot of unknowns there. You hear a bunch of shit about ā€œsuccessful people take risksā€ and the like.

Strange that my version of taking a risk is staying in my hometown and getting a good job.

The fourth option is to get an MBA.

From what I understand, getting an MBA is like being part of a special club. It gives you access to jobs other people canā€™t access. All of them make bank right out of the gate.

Of course, if I do that then we can add another $100k to my student loan debt. An incomprehensibly large number to me at the moment. Might as well be $100 million.

You want to talk about speculation? Well I have even less of an idea what getting an MBA will do for me than the real estate.

At least the real estate is somewhat easy to figure out: you sell houses and shit.

I donā€™t even know what the fuck an MBA does, or what they teach in business school. As far as I know all they do is teach you to throw around buzzwords so youā€™ll fit in with the rest of the douchebags who have MBAs.

ā€œhow to get there from hereā€

ā€œcreate value for our customersā€

ā€œour mission is to change the worldā€

Barf.

Still, it would give me another year or so in Israel. My previously useless psychology degree would be transformed into a ticket to even HIGHER education.

More notches on the belt. More shawarma. More beach time.

Eventually though, the party has to end. I think thatā€™s what scares me the most about these decisions. Iā€™m 33 years old. I only have so much more time to fuck around.

What I donā€™t like is that eventually Iā€™m going to have to pick SOMETHING.

I canā€™t keep bouncing around forever. Someday Iā€™m going to have to get into real estate or some equivalent industry, buckle down and do it for a fuckload of years.

No more traveling, no more beach time. No more notches on the belt.

I guess thatā€™s what getting old is about.

I hashed this out with my mom a few days ago.

She kept saying shit like, ā€œYouā€™re under the impression that older people donā€™t travel. And thatā€™s wrong.ā€

Not exactly what I said, but my mom likes to try and twist my words to make a point.

Yeah, of course older people can travel. Anyone can buy a fucking plane ticket and go somewhere.

The difference is that people with real jobs and commitments travel for a week or two, maybe a month. Then they come back to whatever their chosen grind is and put the cuffs back on.

What they canā€™t do is what Iā€™ve been doing: live somewhere new every few months. REALLY travel. REALLY be on the road.

Then again, was that really such an enjoyable way to live?

I mean, isnā€™t the whole reason I came back to LA because I didnā€™t want to do that anymore?

Fuck, itā€™s been so long I canā€˜t even remember.

I used to blame my German girlfriend for taking the fire out of my belly. New Zealand and Germany were not the most enjoyable years of my life. I went there so we could be together.

Locked down with my GF in a boring place with no social life. Not my ideal lifestyle.

But meanwhile weā€™ve been broken up for almost two years and I never jumped back into the ocean.

I tried the LA thing, first working with my friend and making decent money. Then I couldnā€™t stand that anymore and tried the shit CL jobs.

Those didnā€™t work and now itā€™s crunch time. Real estate or bust.

The thought that I need to pick eventually is scary. I donā€™t like it, because it implies a loss of control, a loss of freedom.

Whatā€™s even worse is that I am under the impression that if I go to Israel Iā€™ll just end up back here anyway.

With a shitty liberal arts degree, real estate will still be my best option.

Iā€™ll be right back where I started, 3ā€“4 years older with nothing to show for it but a useless piece of paper and maybe some more pictures on Facebook.

God fucking damn it! I wanted to write because I thought it would help me figure shit out.

Instead, it just made me realize I need to make a choice between moving forward and going back.

Seems easy, right? Moving forward is always better, isnā€™t it? Progress and all that shit?

Well what if moving forward is moving into something shitty? Why would anyone want to jump into a fire? Wouldnā€™t it be better to just go back?

Then again, I donā€™t know for sure that the fire would burn me. Maybe Iā€™d figure out a way to survive the flames.

All Iā€™m doing is speculating. Just comparing an unknown future to a known one, relatively speaking. But do I even know?

Wanna know something crazy? This past year in LA parallels the last time I tried to live here.

When I had gotten out of the army, I came back here right away thinking I would finally make it big.

I thought that since the army was so fucking hard, making money should be a piece of cake by comparison.

Full of vim and vigor, I dove headfirst into whatever job I could find.

Once again they just happened to be shitty Craigslist jobs. A few weeks here, a month there. I made $30.

Granted, this was in 2009 at the peak of the recession. Not like now.

But still, I fucking hated it and was desperate for some kind of change.

At first I wanted to stay in America and make money. Then I ran out of steam.

Without a support network to keep me afloat I went with the easy escape route: back to Israel.

Do I regret my choice? Definitely not.

Two fun years in Tel Aviv followed by four years of traveling the world selling shit to women. Made me who I am today.

The point is that I feel like trying to live here in LA follows a pattern: I come all excited to make money, shit doesnā€™t work out, and then I escape to something else.

Why do you think I joined the army in the first place?

UGH. Iā€™m so over thinking about this. Itā€™s fucking Christmas, for Godā€™s sakes. I should be out taking mushrooms and walking around Santa Monica or something.

Meh. Maybe Iā€™ll just play Dota all day instead.

--

--