I was invited to the National Museum Of Oman

Yamanakayasuki
4 min readFeb 6, 2024

--

The top photo is a night view of Muscat’s Gulf of Oman.

Today’s story is also about Oman.

Previously, I wrote about my visit to the Ministry of Heritage and Tourism, the day after my arrival in Oman.

The next day, I was scheduled to visit the Ministry of Education, but it was later changed to a Zoom meeting on another day. Although the preparation for the previous day’s presentation was intense, there was no presentation this time.

Just as I was starting to relax a little as the meeting was canceled, I got an unexpected invitation to the National Museum of Oman.

Initially, I thought I was just going to the museum for a tour, just ordinary sightseeing. As I was about to leave in casual clothes, the person accompanying me said, “That attire might not be suitable… It’s a rather official visit.” That’s when I realized it was a work-related visit. I went back to my room, changed into Omani formal attire, and headed to the National Museum.

A drive while admiring the beautiful Gulf of Oman. The National Museum is located a little past the Gulf of Oman.

Opened in 2016, the museum is a beautiful piece of architecture that harmonizes with the surrounding scenery. A little away from the front, there’s the palace where the Sultan lives.

Palace from the National Museum

Exterior of the National Museum

Exterior of the National Museum — too big to fit in one photo

A Country Where Women Thrive in an Middle Eastern Region

Upon arrival, I was greeted and led to a grand reception room.

I had a conversation with the director of the museum.

Receiving a book about the museum from the director with a big smile

The director was a very kind and wise woman who studied in Malaysia for her PHD. She spoke kindly and cheerfully throughout the meeting, allowing me to have an enjoyable time without feeling nervous.

At the end of the conversation, the director said,

“After this, please tour the museum, and if you have any good ideas, let me know.”

So I took a serious look at each exhibit. But for me, a lover of ancient history and history in general, it was almost like a hobby. (Laughs)

The guide who showed me around the museum was an Omani woman who had studied at Kyoto University.

She answered all my various questions with a smile.

I would have liked to spend the whole day at the museum, but due to the schedule afterward, I had about 90 minutes for the tour.

A museum where you can learn deeply about Oman’s history. I was reminded of the greatness of Islamic culture and its beauty.

Armor displayed in the museum — a gift from Japan

Compatibility between Islamic Culture and Japanese Culture

Could ancient Japanese buildings, The old hotel resorts, we are developing in Tokushima, be compatible with Islamic architecture?

Carpets, lamps, fixtures, furniture from Oman.

I’m thinking of incorporating them into the old hotel resort of mine.

In fact, the grand auditorium of the Metaverse school that our company is working on is inspired by a building in the Islamic region.

Traveling around the world and encountering many ruins and cultures, I find that the subtle beauty in the calmness of Islamic culture suits me.

Actually, I’ve loved Persian carpets since my 20s.

Carpets and fixtures in the National Museum — beautiful

Starting with the National Museum

The homework given to me by the museum director. I came up with some great ideas.

A mechanism to get people who don’t know Oman interested in Omani culture and to actually visit Oman.

I plan to start working on it as soon as I return to Japan.

Visiting the museum made it clear.

In any country, the national museum displays the historical changes and important points of that country.

First, visit the museum. Then, decide where to tour. This sequence seems right.

In the national museum, the wealth of the people of the country is displayed. Understand this well, and respect the country’s culture while visiting.

That’s the key to enjoying museums.

This seems to be displayed in various places — must be important

I hope that reading this blog will increase the number of people visiting Oman.

When you do, the first stop should be the National Museum. That’s the golden rule.

If you liked it, a follow would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you for reading to the end today.

--

--

Yamanakayasuki

Business owner. Hobbies: Visiting shrines, ancient sites, playing with cats. Began a resort business in Tokushima, a cultural- rich city on Shikoku, Japan.