Abduweli Ayup
4 min readJul 29, 2020

“How Uyghurs in China Love Erdogan?”

Abduweli Ayup

It was 1995 when I was impressed by Erdogan for the first time. Back then, he was elected as the mayor of Istanbul and gave Isa Yusuf Alptekin’s name — a well-known pro-independence Uyghur activist — to a park in Istanbul (near Sultanahmet , the blue mosque). When Chinese Embassy in Turkey criticized his action, his response was “I am the Mayor of Istanbul and I rule the city, you should mind your business in Beijing”. I did not see this in the media in Turkey again, however, it went rival in Chinese media platforms when Erdogan became a hot topic in mainland after 5th July massacre back in 2009. He was well respected not only by Uyghurs in diaspora but also the other nations who stand with justice. Turkish all around the world, within or outside Turkey, protested on the streets side by side with Uyghurs. His bravery and righteous action motivated Uyghurs in our homeland and gained more interest towards Turkey.

After July 5th, Erdogan became hero among the Uyghurs. Turkey was represented freedom, brotherhood and justice in Uyghur Homeland. Turkish movies, Turkish food, Turkish clothes were everywhere in northwest part of China.

I found 6 stores that sell clothes made in Turkey when I visited Guma district, Hoten which is the poorest region in northwest Chinese province back in 2011. I tasted the Marash Ice-cream in Hoten which did not try during my six months stay in Turkey. According to my research, I found Uyghur businessman’s attitude toward Turkish products was “ours’, they told me that “we would sell our products, not Chinese ones, even the profit margin is small”. To them, Turkish products were “our product” in those years.

Erdogan planned an official visit to China which started from Urumqi. I don’t know how but people was informed that he was going to pray in Noghay mosque in Konsul Street. In the night that Erdogan arrived, one of my friend called me and invited me to Urumqi by saying “we will pray whole night for Erdogan and when he comes to mosque in the next day will have chance to meet him in person”.

I was touched by his words and wrote an essay on this topic to criticize Erdogan and his hypocrisy after the July 5, but I received calls and messages of friends from different cities of East Turkestan who were driving to Urumqi to meet Erdogan. Afterwards, I realized how absurd it was — going crazy for a politician; was it normal? I could not bear with phone call and messages, no one stopped blaming me on the essay, at the end I was forced to delete the essay, and felt disappointed.

I was a visiting scholar in Ankara University from fall of 2005 till July 2006, therefore I understand Turkish politics and politicians to a certain degree. Hence, even after going back, watching the progress that Erdogan made in Turkey closely with proud became my habit. The more I follow him, I noticed inconsistency, insincerity, twistedness in his speeches. That is why, at the night of his arrival, I posted a short article in one of the forums called “Should we desire virtue or Erdogan?”. It was all hatred that I received from the community. Even my good friends who have lived in Turkey for quite some time went against me and asked me to delete the post. I did so, not because of my respect for Erdogan but for the good-hearted, beloved friends. Among them Erkzat Barat was arrested in 2018 by the government, sharing a similar destiny with other thousands of Uyghurs, faced 17 years of trial for selling Turkish products.

In spring 2019, one journalist from Milat a local newspaper based in Istanbul interviewed me regarding Uyghur issue. One of the questions she asked during the interview was “How Uyghurs in China love Erdogan?”. From the way she asked I knew what she was expecting to hear. I answered in following way: “I don’t know about the Uyghurs in diaspora but the ones in our homeland are paying serious prices for loving Erdogan, however, I think Uyghurs are ready to love him anytime. Only if he asks about the people he hugged during his visit to Urumqi who are no in camps; gives work permit for Uyghur refugees who prayed for him whole Ramadan nights, stops extraditing Uyghurs to China. If he takes these actions, Uyghurs are ready not only to love but also to sacrifice their lives for him.”. The journalist was not very happy with my answer and did not publish the long conversations that we had.

Although I love Turkey and have many Turkish friends, I left the place that is full of beloved Uyghur faces and came to Europe. There are many direct reasons for my decision, but the most important one was the thread of China under the governance of Erdogan. I applied for a position in one of the university in 2019, like I did in 2015 and 2016, which resulted in rejection. It was because they think my existence as Uyghur rights activist in a state university may harm the relationship of Turkey with China and they are afraid to take that risk.

When I come across with a headline concerning Turkey and Uyghur issue, the comparison of Erdogan’s pose with East Turkestan flag back in 90s and “from where to where” song that he sang for his supporters now in 2020, comes to my mind. This comparison can give us a clue not only about the transformation of Erdogan, but also the transition of Turkish democracy and the future of Turkish people under the shadow of CCP atrocity which implemented under the leadership of Erdogan.

Abduweli Ayup

Uyghur linguist and writer, the founder of Uyghur Hjelp Norway based advocacy and rights organization