Yann Leflour
2 min readJul 13, 2017

--

This is a great read and illustrate really well how I too feel about Redux.

I truly love Redux because I get everything that is happening. I can attach my debugger, see every action in the exact order it happened and pinpoint exactly where and why it went wrong. It is unit testable to the core and it’s amazing.

But the biggest trade-off has been celerity. Whereas I now have crystal clear tool to manage my app’s state it is surrounded by countless action types, action creators, selectors, and a biggass reducer. And I’m not including sagas. All those have always felt like writing boilerplate. It takes a lot of time and sometimes only to handle a fetch and display of a simple item list which you could have done in 3 lines in a componentWillMount.

And I know that I can count on my finger the times where I told myself “I couldn’t have handled this better than with Redux/Saga”.

From my experience I would say that what I regard today as being the best Redux framework is Apollo. Yes it is for GraphQL but it is Redux. It is a breeze to use. Everything is beautifully organised and handled. The state and actions are readable and debugable. It handles all the basic use cases and a lot more. And when you want to handle the heavy stuff you just plug it in to your own Redux store and write some code yourself.

So I totally agree with you on Redux. It needs a proper community adopted framework. And if I were to create one, I would start by learning from Apollo.

--

--