Why I got a Manual Transmission Sports Car as my first car

Yao Xiao
5 min readJan 20, 2017

--

About a week ago, I purchased the first car in my life, a used 2013 Nissan Fairlady 370Z equipped with tech package, sports package, and most importantly a standard transmission. The reception from my coworkers and friends have been great, congratulations all around… until I tell them that it is a stick shift sports car with two seats, which has prompted the following question every single time, “why?”

My Fairlady Z

Background

I have NEVER EVER owned a stick shift in my life, and prior to this car, have had a total of 3 hours experience driving one (shout out to stickgta.com for teaching me). I have been driving here and there my dad’s beautiful Ford Edge SUV for about 4 years now, which is an automatic. Prior to all that, my only experience with a manual car was riding in my family’s old 1996(?) white Jetta for 8 years.

So why in the world would I get a transmission that is offered in less than 30% of new car models now days and accounts for less than 3% of automotive sells in the US?

On top of that, why would I get a sports car that only has two seats and has pathetic gas milage (18/23), laughable trunk space (you can’t even fit a backpack standing up) and high insurance rates to boot.

Here’s Why

Fun to Drive

Now I can appreciate a good car, but I ain’t a car guy, I probably can’t even point out to you half the parts under the hood, nor can I even change a spare tire (which is on my new years resolution to learn), the list goes on. BUT when I drove stick for the first time in a Subaru BRZ, I fell in love. I’ve never felt so in control in a car before, the fact that I was able to dictate the gearing made me question why I would ever let a computer take over how I drive a car. Combined with the fact that the BRZ handled terrifically, I really felt like I was driving a go-kart.

The first Manual Transmission car I ever drove

This was solidified when I took a drive in the mountains with my new car, the whole experience was surreal. The fact that I was able to make the RPMs stay in the power band, and attack the corners at speeds I never imagined I’d dare to do, and the fact that the ENTIRE time I felt like I was in full control, made me want to come back and do this every weekend.

Having this car allows me to take driving as a hobby, rather than a skill to get from point A to point B.

My Time, My Place

I’m 23, no wife, no kids, no attachments, I feel like this is the only time where I can get a two door (and even two seat) sport car as my only car. I also feel like I’m in the stage of my life where I can truly appreciate and have fun in a powerful, low, loud (hopefully not obnoxious) sports car. Maybe when I settle down with 2 kids or something I’ll get a Minivan or a SUV, but I’ve got ways to go.

Before you ask, no, I’m not having a quarter life crisis.

Location wise, I’m in the Bay Peninsula, where it’s always sunshine, where the mountain roads are a 15 min drive away, and the scenic ocean-side highway one is just past that, what better driving condition can you ask for?

Making Me Become a Better Driver

Huh? What? That’s right, the whole process of learning manual has been forcing me to become a better driver.

I have to admit, in the past I often used my phone or dozed off in traffic jams, but now all 4 of my limbs are constantly moving trying to get the best gas milage and trying to preserve the clutch and the breaks, is making me more attentive than ever. I’ve also seemed to develop a lot more patience in the past week, because I know I’ll either stall or burn the clutch if I rush anything.

I’ve yet to use my phone while moving yet, now I can’t promise that I won’t ever, but at least I’m more prohibited to do so.

Conclusion

Those were just a few (albeit big) of the reasons why I chose a manual transmission sports car as my first and only car (so far). Trust me, it hasn’t been easy, let me list out just some of the mishaps and unfortunate situations I’ve gotten myself into in JUST the past week (maybe I’m not the quickest learner).

  • Stalling when the light turned green….. then stalling again after panic restart.
  • Stalling at 3 straight stop signs.
  • Parked the car in neutral without parking breaks on a slight incline, had to run after my car.
  • Scraped the front of my car on parking block.
  • Upshifting from 2 to 5 by accident.
  • Downshifting from 6 to 2 (synchro rev-match disagreed with that.. a lot)
  • Tried moving with my parking break still on.
  • Tried putting the car into 1st gear at > 5mph.

Even with all that, I’ve still had an extremely fun and exciting first week with my car.

Was buying this car a sound financial decision? Hell no, no sports car is, but I didn’t buy it to save money, I bought it to add some spice to my life and I don’t regret it one bit.

I suspect I’ll be here quite often :)

--

--

Yao Xiao

Frontend Engineer @ Medallia, BCFM University of Waterloo