Why My Soul-Crushing Sales Job Was the Best Thing for My Marketing interviews

Yash Jain
4 min readApr 28, 2024

As an introvert fresh out of my UG college, a job in sales was the last thing I wanted. The idea of cold calling total strangers made me want to curl up in the fetal position. But with no companies willing to hire a marketing newbie, I had no choice but to suck it up and take an edtech telesales gig.

It was even worse than I imagined. 10 hours a day getting hung up on by angry parents. I’m not exaggerating when I say it was one of the most soul-crushing experiences of my life. I honestly wondered if I had what it took to make it in the working world.

But looking back now? That nightmare telesales job was low-key the most valuable career experience I could have had for breaking into marketing.

I was in way over my head those first few weeks. Every morning I’d be a nervous wreck dreading having to get on those calls. As soon as I started my fake cheery sales pitch, parents would just lay into me. “You think I’m gonna fall for this crap?” and “My kid isn’t an idiot, quit wasting my time!” The verbal beatdowns were relentless.

By the end of each 10-hour shift, my voice was shot and my self-esteem was lower than ever. I’d go home feeling like a total failure, questioning if I had what it takes. Some nights I couldn’t even sleep from the stress and anxiety. I found myself constantly searching for any other job opening just to get out of there. Telesales was straight up breaking me as a person.

Little by little, I started picking up on patterns in what these parents actually wanted. The skeptics just needed to feel heard and have their objections addressed. The strugglers were looking for a personal connection to how this could help their kid.

It was like scales falling from my eyes. All the principles I was teaching myself — gathering insights, addressing pain points, building rapport — were straight out of the fundamental marketing playbook that I read in my classes

For the first time, I could see how the grueling telesales grind was secretly imparting invaluable customer experience lessons that would power my future marketing career.

Fast forward to my final placements, I’ll never forget this one interview at a hot SaaS startup. The hiring manager was grilling me hard on how I’d approach their lead nurturing flows. “How would you craft messaging to overcome objections to our pricing model?” she asked.

This has to be my moment, I looked her square in the eye and said “From my telesales days, I learned that objections always mask an unstated pain point or unaddressed concern,” I said slowly and deliberately.

I could see the furrowed brow on her face start to loosen as I launched into a story about a notoriously prickly parent who kept batting away my pitches. “The more I asked questions and truly listened though, the more I uncovered her real worries about whether these courses would actually benefit her kid long-term…”

By the time I got to the payoff of how I flipped the script by reframing around lifelong advantages, the hiring manager was hooked. She cocked her head with this fascinated look, like I’d revealed the secret sauce of marketing to her for the first time.

After that, the rest of the interview was clockwork. Every question she fired off, I had a bitingly relevant telesales parallel that showed how I already grasped the customer mindset better than most fresh MBAs.

This was my Eureka moment, I knew I am getting that job as soon as the interview finished. All those people pursuing/pursued MBA from tier2/3 institutes know how its a dream of every marketing graduate to pursue a career in core brand management/digital marketing, something that I was got from the pool of 70+ shortlisted students.

So if you’re a student wondering what career path to take, let me leave you with this: don’t rule out sales just because of its skeezy reputation. Getting thrown into the hellfire of telesales straight out of college was one of the most grueling chapters of my life. But it was also undoubtedly the most formative experience for developing the customer-first mindset that’s invaluable in marketing.

Having to deal with daily objections, rejection, and getting cussed out in sales forces you to quickly learn how to truly understand the customer’s pain points and speak their language. It strips away textbook fluff and drills the power of authentic listening, framing, and rapport-building into your DNA.

I wouldn’t be half the marketer I am today without those taxing telesales reps humbling me and forcing me to get scrappy. So don’t be afraid of getting your hands dirty in sales first. Embrace it as the ultimate launch pad for resonating with real people — which is what marketing is all about.

--

--

Yash Jain
0 Followers

Growth Hacking II Marketing II Top 1%iler II Startup Stories